Our 2018 Alumni National Awards Recipients

Congratulations to the remarkable award recipients who will be honored at Alumni National Awards Weekend, April 26-28. Your achievements exemplify the Marquette pillars of excellence, faith, leadership and service.


Alumni of the Year Award
Karen Kane Swoboda, Eng ’90, and Charles M. Swoboda, Eng ’89

Cary, N.C.


Professional Achievement Award
Wylie A. Aitken, Law ’65

Santa Ana, Calif.


Service to the Community Award
Bishop Donald J. Hying, Arts ’85

Merrillville, Ind.

Service to Marquette Award
Valerie Wilson Reed, Sp ’79

Hindsdale, Ill.


Spirit of Marquette Award
Bryon M. Riesch, Bus Ad ’02

Waukesha, Wis.


Friends of the University Award
Drs. Marianne and Sheldon B. Lubar

River Hills, Wis.


See all of this year's award recipients.

About The Weekend

Nomination form

Honor an award recipient

April 26 - 28, 2018

Each spring, Marquette University sets aside one special weekend to honor distinguished alumni from every college and school who represent the heart, soul and spirit of Marquette.


Jill Ott
Engagement Director
(414) 288-0376


Lisa Bartoszewicz
Engagement Officer
(414) 288-4511