Students on Campus




The faculty of the Department of Biological Sciences work steadily to keep abreast of advances in the state of our discipline.  They also strive to ensure the highest possible quality of teaching and research activity and to promote meaningful student participation in scholarly activities.


Wehr Distinguished Professor of Biology

The Wehr Chair is funded by the Wehr Foundation, which also provided funding for the construction of the Wehr Life Sciences, Chemistry, and Physics buildings. This professorship is a most generous gift to the university.


Recipients of the Wehr Distinguished Professorship:
Dr. Stephen Downs Dr. James Buchanan Dr. Robert Fitts
Dr. Stephen Downs Dr. James Buchanan Dr. Robert Fitts
2008-2013 2003-2008 1997-2003



Way Klingler Young Scholar Award

Way Klingler Young Scholar Awards support promising young scholars in critical stages of their careers. The awards of up to $32,000 are intended to fund $2,000 in operating costs and to cover up to 50 percent of salary to afford the recipient a one-semester sabbatical.

Dr. Krassimira Hristova (2013)

Dr. Martin St. Maurice (2011)

Dr. Allison Abbott (2010)

Dr. James Anderson (2006)

Dr. Pinfen Yang (1993)


Marquette University's Teaching Excellence Award

Each year, faculty members who are held in the highest esteem by colleagues and students are honored by Marquette with Teaching Excellence Awards. Although the honorees are all accomplished scholars specializing in different disciplines, one thread is consistent throughout – above all, they consider themselves teachers. Recognition of these efforts by students, colleagues, and the administration of the university have resulted in the following faculty from the Department of Biological Sciences being recognized for their service by being given Marquette University's Teaching Excellence Award.

Professor Rosemary Stuart (2008)

Professor Emeritus Kathleen Karrer (1999)

Professor Emeritus Walter Fredricks (1998)

Professor Emeritus Gail Waring (1995)

Professor Emeritus Bela Piacsek (1991)


Lawrence G. Haggerty Faculty Award for Research Excellence

The Lawrence G. Haggerty Faculty Award for Research Excellence recognizes scholarly distinction at Marquette University. Since 2001, four faculty members of the Department of Biological Sciences have been recipients of the Lawrence G. Haggerty Award for Research Excellence. The annual award recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated scholarly distinction and an all-encompassing belief in excellence.

Dr. Rosemary Stuart (2011)

Dr. Stephen Downs (2009)

Dr. James Buchanan (2006)

Dr. Robert Fitts (2001)



Biological Sciences Department

Marquette University, Wehr Life Sciences
(Directions/campus map) PDF
P.O. Box 1881
Milwaukee, WI 53201-1881
(414) 288-7355
Visit our contact page for more information.