Students on Campus





A university chair endowed by alumni or various foundations is established to attract and retain top-level faculty. The interest dollars from these endowments may provide salary, reduction in teaching loads, monies for research and travel, or all three.

Dr. Stephen DownsDr. Stephen Downs

Wehr Distinguished Professor of Biology (2008-2015)

The Wehr Chair is funded by the Wehr Foundation, which also provided funding for the construction of the Wehr Life Sciences, Chemistry, and Physics buildings. A most generous gift to the university.


Past Recipients of the Wehr Distinguished Professorship:



Biological Sciences Department

Marquette University, Wehr Life Sciences
(Directions/campus map) PDF
P.O. Box 1881
Milwaukee, WI 53201-1881
(414) 288-7355
Visit our contact page for more information.