College of Education Alum Receives 2012 Kohl Fellowship

Released 3/12/12

The College of Education is pleased to acknowledge Michael Gutzwiller, 2009 CECP alumnus and Theology department chair at St. Thomas More High School, for being named as a 2012 Kohl Teacher Fellow.

Fellowship recipients are chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning
in their students, their ability to motivate others, and for their leadership and service within and outside the classroom.

The Kohl Teacher Fellowship program recognizes and supports teaching excellence and innovation in the State of Wisconsin. Annually, the Foundation awards 100 Wisconsin teachers with $1,000 Kohl Fellowship grants, and each Kohl Fellowship recipient's school receives a matching $1,000 grant. Recipients' professional accomplishments are celebrated at a recognition luncheon in the spring.

The Kohl Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship program was established by U.S. Senator Herb Kohl in 1990. To date the foundation has awarded $7.8 million to Wisconsin educators, students and schools.

“Education is the key to the future of Wisconsin and our nation. I am very proud of the accomplishments of these students and teachers, and look forward to the great contributions they will make in the future,” Kohl said


twitterFollow us on Twitter
twitterLike Us on Facebook


College of Education

Have a question or comment for the
College of Education?

Contact us.