The College of Education Honors Students, Alumni, and Friends at 2013 Mission Recognition Event

Released 4/24/13

The following individuals were honored at the College of Education Mission Recognition Event on the evening of Tuesday, April 23, 2013.


Student Awards

Student Awards recognize pre-service teachers and graduate students who demonstrate not only academic excellence, but also a commitment to social justice and leadership expressed in service to others.

Outstanding Elementary Pre-Service Teacher
Stephanie J. Grassel

Outstanding Secondary Pre-Service Teacher
Samantha N. Martinson                                      

Outstanding Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology Masters Student
Sabrina Bong
Louisa "Affi" Okokon

Outstanding Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology Doctoral Student
Darnell A. Durrah, Jr.

Outstanding Educational Policy & Leadership Graduate Student
Brandon Buck
Amy C. Porter


Cooperating Teachers

The Cooperating Teachers Award recognizes outstanding professionals in the field who model excellence and live the ideals of magis and cura personalis in their work with our pre-service teachers.

Cooperating Teacher
Christine M. Lemon                   


Outstanding Lecturer

Outstanding Lecturer Awards recognize adjunct faculty members who excel as teachers of our undergraduate or graduate students and live out a commitment to social justice.                                      

Outstanding EDPL Faculty Lecturer Awards
Rebecca Lorentz                                                


Recent Graduates - Living the Mission

Living the Mission Awards recognize recent graduates who reflect the mission of the College of Education by acting as change agents in their community.

Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology:  Living the Mission
Andrew Ronquillo

Educational Policy & Leadership:  Living the Mission
Lauren Beckmann


Human Services/Foundation

The Human Services/Foundation Partner Award recognizes collaborative community partners with whom we share the resources, rewards, and risks associated with serving the community and advancing the field of education and mental health.

West Allis-West Milwaukee School District, Department of Student Services


School Partners

School Partners Awards are given to schools which support our social justice mission by providing outstanding experiential learning experiences for pre-service teachers and directly assist us in the formation of men and women for others.

West Allis-West Milwaukee School District


Education Advocacy Award

The Education Advocacy Award recognizes individuals who make significant or systemic contributions to the local, state, or national education landscape through their work. 

Barbara Miner   
Sister Mary Diez, Ph.D.


Dean's Faculty Excellence Award

The Dean’s Faculty Excellence Award recognizes tenure track faculty members who excel at teaching, research, and service or whose performance in any of these areas is especially significant.  

Sarah Knox
Professor, Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology

Joan Whipp
Associate Professor, Educational Policy and Leadership



twitterFollow us on Twitter
twitterLike Us on Facebook


College of Education

Have a question or comment for the
College of Education?

Contact us.