The College of Education Honors Students, Alumni, and Friends at 2012 Mission Recognition Event

Released 4/10/12

The following individuals were honored at the College of Education Mission Recognition Event on the evening of Tuesday, April 10, 2012.


Student Awards

Student Awards recognize pre-service teachers and graduate students who demonstrate not only academic excellence, but also a commitment to social justice and leadership expressed in service to others.

Outstanding Elementary Pre-Service Teacher
Irma L. Munoz
Carly Zarr

Outstanding Secondary Pre-Service Teacher
Jeff R. Mrochinski
Sheila Stormont                                          

Outstanding Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology Masters Student
Alicia A. Fleischmann

Outstanding Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology Doctoral Student
David Phelps

Outstanding Educational Policy & Leadership Graduate Student
Elizabeth Mueller         


Cooperating Teachers

The Cooperating Teachers Award recognizes outstanding professionals in the field who model excellence and live the ideals of magis and cura personalis in their work with our pre-service teachers.

Cooperating Teacher
Jeffrey S. Cartier                    


Outstanding Lecturer

Outstanding Lecturer Awards recognize adjunct faculty members who excel as teachers of our undergraduate or graduate students and live out a commitment to social justice.

Outstanding CECP Faculty Lecturer Award 
Kathleen A. Cepelka, Ph.D.                                               

Outstanding EDPL Faculty Lecturer Awards
Lorraine Buehler                                                


Recent Graduates - Living the Mission

Living the Mission Awards recognize recent graduates who reflect the mission of the College of Education by acting as change agents in their community.

Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology:  Living the Mission
Rebecca Simon

Educational Policy & Leadership:  Living the Mission
Elizabeth Flattery
Emily Rodier


Education Advocacy Award

The Education Advocacy Award recognizes individuals who make significant or systemic contributions to the local, state, or national education landscape through their work. 

Rethinking Schools     


Dean's Faculty Excellence Award

The Dean’s Faculty Excellence Award recognizes tenure track faculty members who excel at teaching, research, and service or whose performance in any of these areas is especially significant.  

Lisa Edwards
Assistant Professor, Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology



twitterFollow us on Twitter
twitterLike Us on Facebook


College of Education

Have a question or comment for the
College of Education?

Contact us.