Student Leadership Award Renamed to Honor College's Fr. Thon

Released: 4/19/10Fr. Andy Thon

This weekend, 82 Marquette students received awards from the Marquette Division of Student Affairs to honor significant contributions of service and leadership that benefit the Marquette community.

The highest honor bestowed upon a student at this event is the Vice President’s Award for Distinguished Leadership, Scholarship, and Service. Recipients of this award have not only demonstrated a sustained leadership commitment throughout their time at the university, but have incorporated a special connection to the Jesuit mission of the University. 

This year, the award held special significance for members of the College of Education community, for the Vice President's award was re-named in honor of College of Education faculty member, Fr. Andy Thon.

Fr. Thon served as Vice President for Student Affairs at Marquette from 1997 to 2008 after holding student affairs positions at Wheeling Jesuit College, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Seattle University, and Marquette.  Under Fr. Thon’s leadership, Marquette dramatically increased opportunities for community service, expanded opportunities for involvement in student organizations and club sports (which nearly doubled in number during his tenure), and constructed and renovated new apartments and residence halls to address the growing residential population. Today, Fr. Thon continues his work at Marquette, serving as a clinical associate professor of education, teaching, advising, and mentoring a new generation of student affairs professionals.  He also serves as president of the Jesuit Association of Student Personnel Administrators (JASPA)

Since 1993, sixteen individuals have received the Rev. Andrew J. Thon, S.J. Vice President's Award for Distinguished Leadership, Scholarship, and Service.

2010 Tim Kellen
2009 Claire Anglim
2008 Stephen Horras
2007 Jamie Wu
2006 Chris Hoff
2004 Angie Gius
2003 Maureen Smith
2002 Jill Rauh
2001 Andy Stith
2000 Jenny Walde
1999 Heather Anichini
1998 Edward Sivak, Jr
1997 Emily Singler
1996 Sara McGinnis
1995 Windy Lammers
1994 Kristen Maskala
1993 Casey Beaumier


twitterWANT MORE NEWS? Follow us on Twitter


College of Education

Have a question or comment for the
College of Education?

Contact us.