Education Deans of Greater Milwaukee Recognize Outstanding STEM Educators
Released: 10/17/2016

On October 13, 2016, the Education Deans of Greater Milwaukee (EDGM) recognized three outstanding STEM educators at the fourth annual Celebrate Teachers and Teaching event. Awards were given to an Early Career Teacher (within his or her first three years of teaching), and Advanced Career Teacher, and a Distinguished Educator (recognizing an individual who represents a long-standing commitment to educational issues and has contributed significantly to closing the achievement gap, driving improvements in teaching and learning, and facilitating high performance in schools).

All three of the awards recipients have received a degree at either the undergraduate or graduate level from Marquette University: 2016 Early Career winner; Miso Sato teaches at Ronald Reagan High School; 2016 Advanced Career Lisa Laabs is at Holy Apostle’s School; and the 2016 Distinguished Educator, Sharon Tomski, works at St. Thomas More High School.

Steve Vande Zande, who was nominated as for both the Advanced Career and Distinguished Educator Awards, is an adjunct instructor in the College of Education. Over 40 teachers were nominated, and seven of the nominees have received a degree from Marquette University. The College of Education congratulates all the winners and nominees for the 2016 Celebrate Teachers and Teaching Awards Ceremony!



twitterFollow us on Twitter
twitterLike Us on Facebook


College of Education

Have a question or comment for the
College of Education?

Contact us.