Phi Alpha Theta, History Honor Society

Marquette is home to the Alpha Delta chapter of Phi Alpha Theta. Membership is a nationally recognized mark of academic achievement, one that many students display by wearing the organization’s red and blue tassels at graduation. Members receive a one-year subscription to The Historian and opportunities to attend regional and national conferences, publish their work, and compete for awards and scholarships.

Marquette’s chapter is one of the oldest in the nation, with its first members initiated in 1941. Two MU faculty members have served as presidents of the national organization: Frank Klement and Carla Hay.  Phi Alpha Theta plays a vital role in the life of the History Department, fostering interactions among students and professors through a variety of social, academic, and career-oriented events. The annual student-faculty kickball game is an important tradition, and the spring induction ceremony and lecture is always the highlight of the Phi Alpha Theta calendar. Elected student officers plan the programming and assume other leadership roles in the department.

Membership qualifications consist of 12 credit hours of History, a 3.1 GPA in History, a 3.0 GPA overall, and a position in the top 35 percent of your class. Please contact faculty adviser Dr. Jennifer Finn for more information or submit your completed application according to the directions on the form.

Student Officers, 2017-2018

President: Steven Wales

Vice President: Eva Schons Rodrigues

Media Officer: Marie Baima

Board Members: Alexis Garcia; Erin Llanes-Smith; Zachary Hatfield



Have a Question or Comment for the History Department?

Department of History
Sensenbrenner Hall, 202A
1103 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Marquette University
P.O. Box 1881
Milwaukee, WI 53201-1881 (USPS); 53233 (courier)
(414) 288-7217 | (414) 288-5099 (FAX)