Managing modules and topics

  1. Search for a module or topic
  2. Edit a module
  3. Edit basic topic properties
  4. Edit additional topic properties
  5. Edit multiple modules and topics
  6. Move or reorder a module or topic
  7. Delete a module or topic
  8. Delete all modules

Search for a module or topic

You can search within a course's Content tool for modules and topics by title and description.

  1. Enter your search term in the Search Topics field.
  2. Click Search. Search results display in the same sequence as they appear within course content.
  3. Click Clear Search to perform a new search.

Edit a module

  1. Click on the module you want to edit from the Table of Contents.
  2. Click on the module title to Edit Module Title.
  3. Click on the module description to add or edit the description. Click Update when finished.
  4. Click on the restrictions area to Add Restrictions. Click Update when finished.
  5. Note  If you set availability dates or a due date for a module, the module appears on the Upcoming Events page and the Agenda view in the Calendar tool.

Edit basic topic properties

  1. Do one of the following:
  2. Click Edit Properties from the topic's context menu.
  3. Click on the topic title to Edit Title.
  4. Click on the topic description to Add or Edit Description. Click Update when finished.
  5. Click on the restrictions area to Add Restrictions. Click Update when finished.

Edit additional topic properties

  1. Do one of the following:
  2. Click on the topic.
  3. You can modify basic topic properties and additional properties such as completion tracking, associated learning objectives, and related grade items.

Edit multiple modules and topics

  1. On the Table of Contents page, click Bulk Edit from the More Actions button.
  2. Make your changes to titles, descriptions, and restrictions.
  3. Click Update where appropriate.

Note  Except for date restriction changes, most changes save automatically.

Move or reorder a module or topic

  1. Do one of the following:
  2. Click Move Up or Move Down from the module or topic's context menu to reorder it.
  3. Click Move To from the module or topic's context menu to move it to a different module within the course. Select the new module and click Move.

Back to top

Delete a module or topic

Note  Deleting a module deletes all topics within that module.

  1. Do one of the following:
  2. If you are deleting a module, click Delete Module from the More Actions button. If you are deleting a topic, click Delete Topic from the topic's context menu.
  3. Decide whether you want to Remove everything from Content but keep all files (in the course), or Delete everything, including all associated files (this will also delete all associated objects including discussions, quizzes, etc).
  4. Click Delete.

Back to top

Delete all modules

Note  Deleting a module deletes all topics within that module.

  1. On the Table of Contents page, click Delete all modules from the More Actions button.
  2. Decide whether you want to Remove everything from Content but keep all files (in the course), or Delete everything, including all associated files (this will also delete all associated objects including discussions, quizzes, etc).
  3. Click Delete.

Back to top

See also

 

Desire2Learn Help | About Learning Environment