2015 Dittman Competition Winners Announced

April 2015 — Kimberly Baker and Christopher Sundberg are the winners of Raynor Memorial Libraries' 18th Annual Maria Dittman Research Competition. Baker and Sundberg will both receive a $200 prize for their outstanding research papers.

Undergraduate category: Kimberly Baker
Project title: “Bursting the Marquette Bubble”
Professor: Dr. Jenn Fishman
Course: ENGL 3210 — Writing Practices and Processes, fall 2014

Graduate/professional category: Christopher Sundberg
Paper title: “Physiological and Self-Report Instruments to Measure Fatigue in Older Adults”
Professor: Dr. Donna McCarthy
Course: HEAL 8018 — Advanced Measurement in Health Care, fall 2014

The annual Dittman competition encourages Marquette students to submit A-grade research papers from the previous calendar year. Submissions are judged based on the thorough use of library resources, variety and appropriateness of resources used, and quality of the research process description. Competition guidelines and a list of past winners are maintained on the Libraries' website.

The competition was initiated in 1998 to honor retiring instruction librarian Maria Dittman. Dittman taught research skills to thousands of students during her 25 years at the university. The awards are funded by the Academic Librarians Assembly and a memorial gift designated by the Dittman family.

An elected committee of librarians and support staff organize the annual competition and awards. This year's committee includes Valerie Beech, Elizabeth Gibes, Leatha Miles-Edmonson, Kerry Olivetti, and Elizabeth Wawrzyniak.