Ben Calvopina (Class of 2012):  Ben will be working at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory in Denver as part of the Science Teacher and Researcher (STAR) program.  The research involves looking into the process of cleaning and annealing the graphene to optimize the transfer of other layers to the subsequent layer of grapheme and studying the migration and bonding properties of deposited metal films on cleaned/annealed doped and un-doped films for use in transparent conducting electrodes.

Kyle Kimminau (Class of 2013):  Kyle will be working at Marquette University with Dr. Kunz on an NSF funded project studying the effects of tiny defects on magnetic domain wall motion and some new dynamical behavior in ultrathin nanowires.

Preston Koch (Class of 2013): Preston will be working with Melissa Vigil in the physics department at Marquette University on physics laboratory exercise developments. In particular he will be working to develop a photovoltaic lab for use in the introductory course sequences. He will also be working on some electronic and other various labs for the PHYS 1001 - 1004 courses

Rebecca McAuliffe (Class of 2013):  Rebecca will be participating in the NSF-REU program at the University of Minnesota on a project yet to be determined.

Daniel Olsen (Class of 2013):  Dan is headed to Sandia National Lab in Albuquerque, NM to participate in the Homeland Security STEM program.  The project involves testing different explosive materials (including non-ideal explosives) and determining their equivalence to a well-characterized reference explosive material.  A few of the tests are measuring the deflection of a structure, air blast measurements, and high speed video of the blast itself.

Abigail Searfoss (Class of 2013):  Abigail is going to be at the University of Iowa participating in the Summer Undergraduate MSTP Research (SUMR) Program for students interested in combined MD/PhD programs.

Sihui Yang (Class of 2013):  Sihui will be at Marquette University participating in summer research in the biology department. She is also participating in a project with Dr. Karkheck in the Physics Department.

Kelsey Meinerz (Class of 2014):  Kelsey received an Undergraduate Research Award from the Wisconsin Space Grant Consortium.  She will be working at Marquette University with Dr. Karkheck modeling the mechanism by which bacteria move. 

Jesse Vogeler-Wunsch (Class of 2014):  Jesse will be at Marquette University working with Dr. Kunz on an NSF funded project investigating multiple nanowire systems.  A new technique which promises to individually select a domain wall to move in an array of wires and walls will be tested useful for proposed recording devices.


Have a Question or Comment for the Physics Department?