Marquette campus skyline
Provost Search at Marquette University

Search for the provost

Marquette University seeks an enthusiastic and visionary academic leader to serve as provost. President Michael R. Lovell has appointed a search committee to coordinate the hiring process.

The committee is chaired by Dr. John Su, professor of English and director of the University Core of Common Studies. Su is also a member of the University Academic Senate. An expert in postcolonial literature, Su has written two single-authored books, more than two dozen articles and reviews, and serves on the editorial advisory board of Modern Fiction Studies.

The university has retained the search firm Isaacson, Miller, which conducted the search for the dean of the Klingler College of Arts and Sciences in 2012-13. The new provost is expected to be announced no later than March 2015.

The search committee and Isaacson, Miller, hosted a series of listening sessions in September 2014 on the Opportunity and Challenge Profile, which has been updated to reflect campus feedback. The campus community can also submit feedback via an online input form.

The Opportunity and Challenge Profile is being used to identify and recruit candidates for the position. Members of the Marquette community are encouraged to nominate candidates via the Isaacson, Miller, website. The search for Marquette’s next permanent provost will be helped greatly if you submit nominations of candidates that the committee should consider. The committee is inclusive, and we welcome and appreciate feedback from the Marquette community.



Provost search contact

  • Dr. John Su
    – 414.288.3476

Search Committee

  • Dr. John Su (Chair)
    – Professor of English, director of the University Core of Common Studies and member of the executive committee of University Academic Senate
  • Steve Frieder
    – Assistant to the president and corporate secretary (Arts '95)
  • Dr. Richard Holz
    – Dean of the Klingler College of Arts and Sciences and University Academic Senate member
  • Dr. Jeanne Hossenlopp
    – Vice provost for research, dean of the Graduate School and University Academic Senate member
  • Janine Kim
    – Professor of law
  • Dr. John Mantsch
    – Chair and professor of biomedical sciences
  • Dr. Cheryl Maranto
    – Chair and associate professor of management and University Academic Senate member
  • Dr. James Marten
    – Chair and professor of history
  • Rev. David Schultenover, S.J.
    – Professor of theology
  • Dr. Lucas Torres
    – Associate professor of psychology
  • Peggy Troy
    – Member of the Marquette University Board of Trustees; President and CEO, Children's Hospital and Health System (Nurs ’74)
  • Kyle Whelton
    – Senior in the Klingler College of Arts and Sciences and president of Marquette University Student Government

  • Provost search documents


    Marquette University