Marquette campus skyline
Provost Search at Marquette University

Search for the provost

The search for a permanent provost is on hold until the Board of Trustees elects Marquette's 24th president. We anticipate that the search will resume in the Fall of 2014.

A search committee was appointed on June 3, 2013 to recruit a new provost for the university. The committee is chaired by Dr. John Su, professor of English and director of the University Core of Common Studies. Su is also a member of the University Academic Senate. An expert in postcolonial literature, Su has written two single-authored books, more than two dozen articles and reviews, and serves on the editorial advisory board of Modern Fiction Studies.

The university has retained the search firm Isaacson, Miller, which conducted the search for the dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. The new provost is expected to start in time for the 2015-16 academic year.

The search committee and Isaacson, Miller hosted a series of listening sessions on June 24 and 25 to receive input for creating the Opportunity and Challenge Profile and position description. The committee shared a draft of the Opportunity and Challenge Profile with the campus community for review and comment. Feedback from the university community was used to create the final version of the document.

The Opportunity and Challenge Profile wil be used to identify and recruit candidates for the position. Members of the Marquette community are encouraged to nominate candidates by emailing The search for Marquette’s next permanent provost will be helped greatly if you submit nominations of candidates that the committee should consider. The committee is inclusive, and we welcome and appreciate feedback from the Marquette community.



Provost search contact

  • Dr. John Su
    – (414) 288-3476

Search Committee

  • Dr. John Su (Chair)
    – Professor of English and Director of the University Core of Common Studies
  • Dr. Mark Eppli
    – Interim dean of the College of Business Administration
  • Dr. Sarah Bonewits Feldner
    – Associate professor of corporate communication
  • Steve Frieder
    – Assistant to the president and corporate secretary (Arts ’95)
  • Dr. Rick Holz
    – Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
  • Dr. John Mantsch
    – Chair and professor of biomedical sciences
  • Dr. James Marten
    – Chair and professor of history
  • Dr. Kristina Ropella
    – Executive associate dean of the College of Engineering and professor of biomedical engineering (Eng ’85)
  • Rev. David Schultenover, S.J.
    – Professor of theology
  • Dr. Rosemary Stuart
    – Professor of biological sciences
  • Dr. Lucas Torres
    – Associate professor of psychology
  • Peggy Troy
    – Member of the Board of Trustees; President and CEO, Children's Hospital and Health System (Nurs ’74)

  • Provost search documents


    Marquette University