Marquette campus skyline
Provost Search at Marquette University


July 1, 2014 – President Lovell names Dr. John Su chair of the search committee in a letter to the Marquette community

Aug. 11, 2014 – Search committee membership announced in
News Briefs

Aug. 18, 2014 – First search committee meeting
The search committee will receive its formal charge from President Michael R. Lovell and hear from Cindy Bauer, vice president and general counsel; Cas Castro, vice president of human resources; Dr. Stephanie Russell, vice president for mission and ministry; and Dr. William Welburn, vice provost for diversity and inclusion regarding mission-driven hiring.

August/September 2014 – Position is posted and advertised

Sept. 22, 2014 – Isaacson, Miller and search committee host four listening sessions for the campus community
The following listening sessions will be held Monday, Sept. 22:

Division of Student Affairs listening session: 10 a.m. in the AMU 227

Staff in academic units listening session: Noon in the AMU 157

Faculty listening session: 4 p.m. in the AMU 227

Student listening session: 5:30 p.m. in Raynor Memorial Libraries' Beaumier Suites

Late September 2014 – Opportunity and Challenge Profile is updated based on feedback from the campus community and the search committee

Early October 2014 – John Su shares updated Opportunity and Challenge Profile with university community

October/November 2014 – Isaacson, Miller identifies, screens and interviews prospects and candidates, and shares information and progress reports with search committee

December 2014 – Hotel interviews by search committee

Early/Mid-January 2015 – Finalist interviews and campus visits

Late February 2015 – Committee makes hiring recommendation to President Michael R. Lovell

March 2015 – Announce new provost to campus community

Provost search contact

  • Dr. John Su
    – 414.288.3476

Search Committee

  • Dr. John Su (Chair)
    – Professor of English, director of the University Core of Common Studies and member of the executive committee of University Academic Senate
  • Steve Frieder
    – Assistant to the president and corporate secretary (Arts '95)
  • Dr. Richard Holz
    – Dean of the Klingler College of Arts and Sciences and University Academic Senate member
  • Dr. Jeanne Hossenlopp
    – Vice provost for research, dean of the Graduate School and University Academic Senate member
  • Janine Kim
    – Professor of law
  • Dr. John Mantsch
    – Chair and professor of biomedical sciences
  • Dr. Cheryl Maranto
    – Chair and associate professor of management and University Academic Senate member
  • Dr. James Marten
    – Chair and professor of history
  • Rev. David Schultenover, S.J.
    – Professor of theology
  • Dr. Lucas Torres
    – Associate professor of psychology
  • Peggy Troy
    – Member of the Marquette University Board of Trustees; President and CEO, Children's Hospital and Health System (Nurs ’74)
  • Kyle Whelton
    – Senior in the Klingler College of Arts and Sciences and president of Marquette University Student Government

  • Provost search documents


    Marquette University