Staff

H. Richard Friman, Ph.D.
Eliot Fitch Chair for International Studies and Professor of Political Science
Director
Research and teaching interests: international relations, international political economy, illicit global economy, human trafficking, migrant smuggling, criminalization of immigration, borders and smuggling, naming and shaming
h.r.friman@marquette.edu

Zachary Patterson
Graduate Student Assistant


Marquette Faculty Affiliates

Mark Berlin, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Political Science
mark.berlin@marquette.edu

Research and teaching interests: international criminal law, human rights, laws of war, transitional justice, torture, international law, international organizations


Noelle Brigden, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Political Science
noelle.brigden@marquette.edu

Research and teaching interests: international relations, human security, clandestine migration, borders, transnationalism, violence, globalization and the politics of street gangs, political ethnography


Risa Brooks, Ph.D.
Allis Chalmers Associate Professor of Political Science
risa.brooks@marquette.edu

Research and teaching interests: international security/security studies, civil-military relations, terrorism and political violence


Louise Cainkar, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Social and Cultural Sciences
Director, Peace Studies Program
louise.cainkar@marquette.edu

Research and teaching interests: Arab and Muslim Americans, Arabs and Muslims in diaspora, U.S. immigration policies, socioeconomic patterns of immigrants


Sarah Gendron, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of French
sarah.gendron@marquette.edu

Research and teaching interests: genocide studies, cultural propaganda, women in conflict, international law, human rights


Barrett McCormick, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science
Coordinator, International Affairs Program
Co-director, Marquette Democracy Project
barrett.mccormick@marquette.edu

Research and teaching interests: China, international politics of Asia, democracy and human rights, new media


Jessica Rich, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Political Science
Co-director, Marquette Democracy Project
jessica.rich@marquette.edu

Research and teaching interests: comparative politics, Latin America, social movements, NGOs, civil society, state capacity


Grant Silva, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
grant.silva@marquette.edu

Research and teaching interests: Latin American philosophy, philosophy of race, the ethics of racism and racial justice, citizenship and immigration studies, national, international and even temporal conceptions of justice, social and political philosophy, decolonial philosophy and modernity, and Amerindian philosophical traditions