Students on Campus

 

A Partial List of Marquette Faculty Teaching or Researching Gender Issues*

Dr. Monica Adya
Assistant Professor of Management
College of Business
monica.adya@mu.edu
Interests: Career motivations and experiences of women in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) careers, the role of national culture on women’s career experiences, particularly on STEM careers.
Dr. Francisco Alencar Jr.
Assistant Professor of General Dental Sciences
Dental School
francisco.alencar@mu.edu
Interests: chronic orofacial pain, including tension headaches, migraines, TMD or TMJ diseases and myofascial pain.
Dr. Ruth Ann Belknap
Assistant Professor of Nursing
College of Nursing
ruth.belknap@mu.edu
Interests: Migration and health with an emphasis on Mexican immigrant women’s experiences, exploring relationships between social/familial support after immigration and levels of stress, depressive symptoms and risk for intimate partner violence.
Dr. M.C. Bodden
Associate Professor of English
College of Arts and Sciences
mc.bodden@mu.edu
Interests: Religious language, privileging violence towards women, and hostility against women’s speech.
Dr. Louise Cainkar
Assistant Professor of Social and Cultural Sciences
College of Arts and Sciences
louise.cainkar@mu.edu
Interests: Arab and Muslim Americans, including issues of women and gender, and stereotypes of Arab and Muslim American women.
Dr. Ed de St. Aubin
Associate Professor of Psychology
College of Arts and Sciences
ed.destaubin@mu.edu
Interests: Human sexuality, Lesbian Self Lab, and teaches courses in human development and personality psychology that incorporate hegemonic structures, sex, and gender.

Dr. Ellen Eckman
Associate Professor of Education
College of Education
ellen.eckman@mu.edu
Interests: Female leaders in education, particularly high school principals, the co-principal leadership model and how it may be a tool to attract and retain women leaders.

Dr. Beth Godbee
Assistant Professor of English
College of Arts and Sciences
beth.godbee @mu.edu
Interests: writing and social justice; empirical documentation of social change; affiliative relationship-building around writing; equity in education; feminist pedagogy and writing program administration

Dr. Jean Grow
Assistant Professor of Advertising and Public Relations
College of Communication
jean.grow@mu.edu
Interests: Controversial advertising case studies related to gender and the lack of women in advertising creative departments.
Dr. Carla Hay
Associate Professor of History
Dr. Diane Long Hoeveler
Professor of English
College of Arts and Sciences
diane.hoeveler@mu.edu
Interests: The female gothic, Romantic women writers, literature and psychology.
Dr. Heather R. Hlavka
Assistant Professor of Criminology and Law Studies
College of Arts and Sciences
heather.hlavka@mu.edu
Interests: Sexual victimization, child sexual abuse, gender and sexuality, social control of women and children, intimate partner violence, system responses to violence against women including police, courts, medical and socio-legal responses.
Dr. Sandra Hunter
Associate Professor of Exercise Science
College of Health Sciences
sandra.hunter@mu.edu
Interests: sex differences in motor function and muscle fatigue under the influence of stress.
Dr. Kate M. Kaiser
Associate Professor of IT
College of Business
kate.kaiser@mu.edu
Interests: Girls’ perceptions of science, technology, engineering, mathematics (STEM), and the challenges to women working in IT. M
Dr. Lezlie Knox
Associate Professor of History
College of Arts and Sciences
lezlie.knox@mu.edu
Interests: Gender in medieval Europe, medieval Franciscan women, the masculinity of Franciscan friars, and monastic prisons.
Dr. Christine L. Krueger
Professor of English 
Director, Who Counts Project
College of Arts and Sciences
christine.krueger@mu.edu
Interests: Literature and law, women historians, women and religion, in Britain from 1750-1900.
Dr. Daniel Maguire
Professor of Theology
College of Arts and Sciences
daniel.maguire@mu.edu
Interests: feminism, feminist issues and religion, violence against women, reproductive health and ethics
Dr. Cheryl L. Maranto
Associate Professor and Chair of Management
College of Business Administration
cheryl.maranto@mu.edu
Interests: Gender discrimination in the workplace, women in management, and corporate diversity programs.
Dr. Michael J. Monahan
Associate Professor of Philosophy
College of Arts and Sciences
michael.monahan@mu.edu
Interests: Theorizing oppression and liberation, especially as it pertains to race and gender, and teaches courses in Africana Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy and Political Philosophy.
Dr. Dawne Moon
Assistant Professor of Sociology
College of Arts and Sciences
dawne.moon@mu.edu
Interests: Uses ethnographic research to learn about identity, culture and politics in the United States to understand how social power works in processes of self-definition.
Dr. Sameena A. Mulla
Assistant Professor of Social and Cultural Sciences
College of Arts and Sciences
sameena.mulla@mu.edu
Interests: Sexual and reproductive violence, forensic intervention, gender, sexuality and law, the body, visual anthropology, subjectivity, medicine, and the relationship between institutional and kin relations.
Dr. Debra L. Oswald
Assistant Professor of Psychology
College of Arts and Science
debra.oswald@mu.edu
Interests: Uses social psychology theories to explain gender stereotyping, sexism, discrimination and teaches courses in Psychology of Gender and Psychology of Prejudice.
Dr. Anne M. Pasero
Associate Professor of Spanish
College of Arts and Sciences
anne.pasero@mu.edu
Interests: Contemporary women’s poetry, from Spain and Latin America, Spanish women writers from the renaissance, and Spanish women mystics.
Dr. Kris Ratcliffe
Professor and Chair of English
College of Arts and Sciences
krista.ratcliffe@mu.edu
Interests: Intersections of rhetoric, feminist theory, and critical race (whiteness) studies and teaches courses in rhetoric and composition, writing, and women’s literature.
Dr. Albert J. Rivero
Professor of English
College of Arts and Sciences
albert.rivero@mu.edu
Interests: Prose fiction about women and/or written by women from 1660-1820 in Britain and intersections between gender, race, and imperialism.
Ms. Andrea Schneider
Professor of Law
Law School
andrea.schneider@mu.edu
Interests: Differences in how men and women negotiate and what behaviors are most effective for women negotiators.
Dr. Nancy E. Snow
Professor of Philosophy
College of Arts and Sciences
nancy.snow@mu.edu
Interests: Iris Murdoch, issues pertaining to rape, and teaches courses in feminism and Asian philosophy and feminism.
Mrs. Dawn Smith
Clinical Assistant Professor, MPAS, PAC
College of Health Sciences
dawn.smith@mu.edu
Interests: Women’s health instruction.
Dr. Meghan S. Stroshine
Assistant Professor of Social and Cultural Sciences
College of Arts and Sciences
meghan.stroshine@mu.edu
Interests: Domestic violence and teaches the courses Women, Crime and Criminal Justice, Domestic Violence in the U.S., and Family Violence and Public Intervention.
Dr. Steven Millen Taylor
Professor of French
College of Arts and Sciences
steven.taylor@mu.edu
Interests:  Women as subjects and writers in French medieval literature.
Dr. Theresa Weynard Tobin
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
College of Arts and Sciences
theresa.tobin@mu.edu
Interests: Feminist ethics, feminist approaches to the study of knowledge and teaches courses in feminist philosophy, feminist ethics and feminist epistemology.
Dr. Lynn Turner
William R. Burleigh and E. W. Scripps Professor
Director, Interdisciplinary Family Studies
College of Communication
lynn.turner@mu.edu
Interests: Issues of how gender operates as on organizing principle for everyday interactions, how communication constructs gender as well as the reverse, and challenging the biology-is-destiny approach to craft a more complex understanding of gendered processes and practices.
Dr. Sarah Wadsworth
Associate Professor of English
College of Arts and Sciences
sarah.wadsworth@mu.edu
Interests: 19th century American women writers and gender and reading.
Dr. Olga Yakusheva
Assistant Professor of Economics
College of Business
olga.yakusheva@mu.edu
Interests: Obesity, health services and earnings, as they relate to schooling, teen pregnancy and gender, as well as teaching courses in labor economics, health economics, principles of microeconomics and intermediate economics.
Dr. Amelia Zurcher
Associate Professor of English
Director, Women’s and Gender Studies Program
College of Arts and Sciences
amelia.zurcher@mu.edu
Interests: Gender and earl modern British literature, feminist theory, feminism and globalization, and sexual violence.
*If you teach or do research in issues having to do with gender and are not included in this directory, please contact Amelia Zurcher via e-mail; we would love to include you here!


SITE MENU

Women's and Gender Studies Mission Statement

Marquette University's Women's and Gender Studies Program offers a primary or secondary major and minor that promote a critical, feminist, and cross-cultural understanding of gender and power in a global context and across disciplinary boundaries. Read more.