Alumni National Awards

Law School
Award Recipient


Photo of Aaron TwerskiAaron D. Twerski, Law '65
Brooklyn, N.Y.

Aaron considers the Marquette Law School Lifetime Achievement Award a symbol of his gratitude to Marquette for the excellent education he received. In fact, he credits Professor James Ghiardi’s torts class as influencing his career: “I knew three weeks into torts that I wanted to be a law professor and teach torts.”

This did come to fruition, as Aaron became a preeminent torts authority and beloved professor himself. He has authored six books, including the leading textbook Products Liability: Problems and Process, and written over 80 scholarly articles. He was a co-reporter for the Restatement, Third of Products Liability. His expertise is often called upon by state and federal legislative bodies, and Aaron served as a special master in the federal 9/11 illness cases, dealing with those involved in the cleanup of the World Trade Center site.

Aaron and his wife, Kreindel, live in Brooklyn, New York, where he has been a professor at Brooklyn Law School since 1986. He was named the Irwin and Jill Cohen Professor of Law for his accomplishments and dedication to the school. He also received the prestigious William L. Prosser Award by the Association of American Law Schools. Aaron has made many contributions to academia. He served as dean of Hofstra University School of Law and has been a visiting law professor at Cornell University, Boston University, and the University of Michigan.

Aaron defines success as “being spiritually engaged.” As a Hasidic Jew in a Jesuit school, he says he felt very supported at Marquette Law School. “I found Marquette to be extraordinarily hospitable. It was an orthodox religious faith, and they understood, not only my appearance and the rest, but that, if there was a religious demand made on me, it came first.”

Fun Facts:
Whom would Aaron like to have dinner with? His grandfather

Favorite Marquette memory? Being named to the Law Review

Award Recipients

Honor an award recipient

Nomination form


Jill Ott
Engagement Director
(414) 288-0376

Lisa Bartoszewicz
Senior Engagement Officer
(414) 288-4511