Committee on Faculty (COF)

Important Note: The COF voted to suspend itself until further notice on May 10, 2007 to initiate and participate in the new University Academic Senate. Any questions about the COF can be directed to Dr. Kristy Nielson, its past chair. Information on the UAS can be found at


This website is designed to provide a forum for discussing the issues of importance to the full- and part-time faculty of Marquette University.  If you have an issue that you feel is important to Marquette Faculty, please feel free to email any of the members above and explain the situation/condition.  These issues may then become meeting agenda items for committee consideration.


Current COF Roster (2006-2007 AY)


Dr. Kristy Nielson (Psychology, At Large, 2004-2007) - Chair

Dr. John Jentz (Raynor Library, Academic Librarians’ Assembly, 2005-2008) - Vice-chair)

Dr. William Thorn  (Journalism, At Large, 2004-2007) - Secretary


Dr. Paul Bankston  (Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science, At Large, 2005-08)

Dr. Erika Bogenschild (MU Retirees Association, 2003-2006)

Dr. Pat Callan (College of Professional Studies)

Dr. Lyle Dabney (Theology, College of Arts and Sciences, 2005-2008)

Dr. Alex Drakopoulos (College of Engineering)

Dr. Michael Duffey (Theology, At-large)

Prof. Ed Fallone (Law School)

Dr. Ana Garner (Journalism, At-large)

Dr. Jadwiga Hjerstedt (Dental School, 2005-2008)

Prof. Stephen Hudson-Mairet (College of Communication)

Dr. Michele McClure (School of Education, 2005-2008)

Dr. Michele Mynlieff (Biological Sciences, At Large, 2005-2008)

Dr. Alexander Ng (College of Health Services, 2003-2006)

Dr. Maureen O’Brien (Nursing, At Large, 2005-2008)

Dr. Elise Sampson (Dental School, At Large, 2004-2007)

Dr. Doris Schoneman (Nursing)

Prof. Robert Slocum (Part-Time)

Dr. Siddhartha Syam (College of Business, 2005-2008)

Dr. Steven Taylor (Foreign Languages and Literatures, At Large, 2005-2008)


COF meetings are held monthly (second Thursday) and are open to full and part-time Marquette University faculty and administration.


Schedule of Meetings for the 2004/2005 Academic Year



Information found on this web-site is intended for Marquette University Faculty and Administration.  To this end, the links below may require a "username" and "password" for off-campus-network access.  If you would like access to information (e.g. salary data) on the COF web-site from an off-campus location, please e-mail Chris Foley and request the COF username and password.





Current By-Laws – Approved 12/4/2004


2003-04 Academic Year Meeting Minutes:

August 21, 2003

August 28, 2003 (Supplemental Meeting - Combined Minutes)

September 4, 2003

September 11, 2003

September 25, 2003

October 9, 2003

November 13, 2003

December 11, 2003

January 15, 2004

February 12, 2004

March 18, 2004

April 15, 2004

May 12, 2004


2004-05 Academic Year Meeting Minutes:

September 9, 2004

October 14, 2004

November 11, 2004

December 9, 2004

January 20, 2005

February 10, 2005

March 10, 2005

May 12, 2005


2005-2006 Academic Year Meeting Minutes

September 8, 2005

October 13, 2005

November 10, 2005

December 8, 2005

January 19, 2006

February 9, 2006

March 9, 2006

April 13, 2006

May 11, 2006


Current Academic Year Meeting Minutes

 September 14, 2006

 October 12, 2006

 November 9, 2006

 December 14, 2006

 January 18, 2007


Archived Meeting Minutes:

Click here to transfer to meeting minutes archive.


COF Sub-Committee Activities and Recommendations:

Recommendations of COF  on Future of SCOTs

Athletic Absence Policy

MU Part-Time Faculty Recommendations




MU and Other Faculty Salary Data:

1999-2001 Salary Data

2001-2002 Faculty Salary Data

2003-2005 Data - MS Excel File

2002-2004 Data - MS Excel File

2002 - 2004 Data - Adobe PDF File


Other Useful Faculty Web-Sites:

Subcommittee on Academic Affairs (SAA)

American Association of University Professors (AAUP) - National 








Last Updated 10/12/06

Questions or comments regarding web-site?  Contact: David Clark  - Dept. of Economics