2021 Scholarship Awardees

The Diederich College of Communication is pleased to announce the recipients of two prestigious  scholarships this spring.

The Pete and Bonnie Axthelm Memorial Scholarship is a merit-based award is for students who demonstrate a keen interest and ability in sports communication, whether that is expressed through the coverage of sporting events, promotion of sports or other means. In addition to the monetary award, the winner serves a pivotal role as the moderator of the annual Axthelm Lecture, which connects professionals in the field of sports journalism to students.

A merit award presented to a junior for creativity and positive use of humor, based on application and audition, the Christopher Crosby Farley Scholarship is given in memory of Chris Farley, a student in the Marquette University College of Speech, who became a popular comedian and actor. 

2021 Axthelm Scholarship Winner: Aimee Galszewski

Aimee GalaszewskiAimee Galaszewski is a double major in journalism and digital media. A native of Greenfield, WI, Aimee has been very involved with student media at the Marquette Wire where she will serve as the executive director next year. In addition, she is a resident assistant in Straz Tower. As the 2021 winner of the Pete and Bonnie Axthelm Memorial Scholarship, Aimee shared that "this award means so much to me because I’m inspired by the legacy that both Pete and Bonnie left behind. They both have strengths that I hope to adapt during my professional development, and it’s an honor that the Axthelm family saw some of those characteristics in me."

2021 Farley Scholarship Winner: Maeve LeFevour

Maeve LeFevourThe winner of the 2021 Chris Farley award is Maeve LeFevour. Originally from Western Springs, IL, and majoring in digital media and public relations with minors in peace studies and advertising, Maeve currently runs her own freelance videography business and aspires to a career in a creative role and continuing to pursue cinematography. "When I found out about this scholarship as a freshman, I knew that I should apply once I became a junior. Now that I have won this award, I cannot thank the College of Communication enough. I am so blessed to receive the gift of this scholarship in honor of Chris Farley’s legacy," she shared.

Both of these students and the other applicants took the opportunity to apply and showcase their work, whether that is through performance and comedy or by sharing their writing and journalistic experience. Dr. Joyce Wolburg, associate dean for academic affairs, noted that "this tradition of awarding scholarships each spring is enjoyed by the judging committees, and the support offered to our students beyond purely academic achievements is integral to their development as future communications professionals."