< Current News // School of Dentistry // Marquette University

Current News

Dentistry Open House

  • Have you ever thought about teaching on the Part-time Faculty team?
  • Are you passionate about dentistry?
  • Do you enjoy sharing your experiences and knowledge?
  • Do you want to be part of the future of dentistry here in Wisconsin?

Come and hear more about the opportunity to teach on a part-time basis.

Open House - Tuesday, June 11, 2019
6:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.
Marquette University School of Dentistry
(1801 W. Wisconsin Avenue)

Talk with Faculty and Students. See the difference part-time faculty make on a daily basis

Agenda to include:
• Tour the School of Dentistry
• Find out how to become a part-time faculty member
• Hear first-hand how rewarding teaching can be

Light refreshments will be served. Parking behind the School (enter through the South entrance)

Please RSVP by May 30 to:
Susan Dalsasso - susan.dalsasso@mu.edu or (414) 288-7550


Fox6 (WITI-TV) reports on the shortage of dental care for patients with special needs.

Watch here to see how Marquette’s School of Dentistry is trying to change that.


Congratulations to our School of Dentistry Alumni Award Recipients! 

Read about our remarkable winners here.

Other news

Dr. Paul G. Luepke was elected as the new President of the Midwest Society of Periodontology at the 62nd Annual MSP Meeting in Chicago.


Dr. Lisa Koenig was an invited speaker at the 50th annual session of the Academy of Brazilian Oral and Maxillofacial Radiologists. She gave her talk on "Advanced Concepts of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiographic Interpretation" on Thursday November 3rd in Recife, Brazil.

Dr. Ardt Guetsch has had a manuscript accepted in a German Practice-based Sample, Clinical Oral Investigations, entitled Oral Health and Dental Anxiety.

Dr. Ximena Meza-Baerstch will serve as the Interim Director for the Advanced Education in General Dentistry Program until a permanent Director is hired.

Ms. Amber May to the position of Director of Diversity and Inclusion for the School of Dentistry.

Drs. Geoffrey Thompson, and Seokhwan Aaron Cho, Have a manuscript accepted for publication in the Journal of Prosthet Dentistry. Title: A method to facilitate the fabrication of access openings for implant-supported complete fixed dental prostheses.

Drs. Pratiksha Agrawal, Geoffrey Thompson, Seokhwan (Aaron) Cho, and Gerald Ziebert. Have a manuscript accepted for publication in the Journal of Prosthet Dentistry. Title: Evaluation of die trim morphology made by CAD/CAM technology.

Drs. Daniel Domagala, Charles Pechous and Neal Bucholtz Have all promoted to Associate Professor.

Sarah Fodor, D2, has received the ASDA Gold Crown Award for “ …the District 7 Delegate of the Year Award. This award is selected by the board of trustees from all chapter leaders in District 7 and is presented to the individual that demonstrates personal dedication and outstanding achievement on behalf of ASDA and its local chapter members. It is a prestigious award…”
Please congratulate Sarah when you see her!

Dr. Agnieszka Domagala promoted to the rank of Clinical Associate Professor.

Dr. Timothy Creamer and Dr. Sheila Stover promoted to the rank of Clinical Professor.

Dr. Donate-Bartfield promoted to Professor.

Dr. Geoffrey Thompson promoted to Associate Professor with tenure.

Dr. Pradeep Bhagavatula promoted to Associate Professor with tenure.


The search for a new MUSoD Faculty representative to the University Academic Senate (UAS) is Complete. Dr. Brian Hodgson has been elected by the full-time faculty to represent our school at the UAS for a term of 3 years


Dr. Ximena Meza-Baerstch recently accepted the position of Director at Marquette University Community Dental Clinic – South. She has been a valued colleague for many years, with an abundance of private practice and academic experience. Congratulations to Dr. Meza-Baertsch regarding this new chapter of her professional career.


Drs. Sheila Stover, Lans Hasimoto and Gary Stafford were inducted into Fellowship in the International College of Dentists on Friday November 6, 2015


Dr. Richard Hagner was inducted into Fellowship in the American College of Dentists in Washington D.C. on Thursday November 5, 2015


Dr. Gary L Stafford had this article published, "Platform Switching of Implants May Decrease Bone Loss," in Evid Based Dent 16: 84-85; doi:10.1038/sj.ebd.6401117


Dr. Patrick Longo has accepted the position as the Pre-Doctoral Program Director for General Dentistry in the Department of General Dental Sciences


Thomas Wirtz, director of informatics, will be recongnized with an Excellence in University Service Award on June 3rd. Tom is passionate about technology. However, his colleagues say Tom is more than just passionate — he's innovative. "I like trying to find new ways to use technology to make a person's work easier or more productve," Tom says. "It's rewarding and enouraging to help people learn a new skill."


Dr.’s Kassab and Nenn received an award from the Department of Justice (along with Beverly Taylor from Fox 6 news) for their efforts in providing dental care for someone who was a victim of a violent act. This award was part of the Dept of Justice’s Honors program for National Victims Crime Week and was presented last Friday.


Dr. Albert Abena was appointed as Senior Director of Marquette University Community Dental Clinics. This new role will support the guide the education and patient care functions at these important sites. In this role, Dr. Abena will report to Dr. Hagner. He will continue to directly oversee operations at the CDC- North Clinic. In addition, the CDC- South Clinic Director will report to Dr. Abena. Dr. Abena will be responsible oversight and direction in the administration and management of the educational and clinical service functions of these clinic sites. I am pleased that Dr. Abena has accepted this new role, and I look forward to supporting him as he works to help the clinics fulfill the critical mission they have for the dental school.


Saturday April 11, 2015 the following students, Kevin Klar D3, Eric Reigle D4 and Allison Schubert D3 were inducted into Alpha Sigma Nu, The Honor Society of Jesuit Colleges and Universities.


On Friday, April 24, Marquette School of Dentistry will honor three incredible people with alumni awards. Dr. Timothy Ward is the 2015 Distinguished Alumnus in Dentistry, Dr. Paul Lovdahl will receive the Outstanding Dental Service Award and Dr. Allison Rhodes Dowd will receive the first Young Alumna of the Year award.


Dr. Dawei Liu has successfully challenged the Part III portion of the American Board Of Orthodontics and is now Board Certified. (3/15)


The search for a new MUSoD Faculty representative to the University Academic Senate (UAS) is Complete. Dr. Brian Hodgson has been elected by the full-time faculty to represent our school at the UAS for a term of 3 years. (3/15)

Faculty promotions-Tenure Track

Dr. David Berzins on his promotion to the rank of Professor effective July 1, 2015.

Dr. Gary Stafford on his promotion to the rank of Associate Professor with Tenure effective July 1, 2015.

Clinical Track

Ms. LynnAnn Bryan on her promotion to the rank of Clinical Professor effective July 1, 2015.

Dr. Michael Grady on his promotion to the rank of Clinical Associate Professor effective July 1, 2015