• The Haggerty Museum of Art is temporarily closed in response to Coronavirus (COVID-19)
  • Haggerty FoursquareHaggerty TwitterHaggerty FacebookHaggerty Instagram
  • NOHL 2019
  • NOHL 2019
  • NOHL 2019

The Greater Milwaukee Foundation's Mary L. Nohl Fund Fellowships for Individual Artists 2019

June 5 – August 9, 2020

Opening reception Thursday, June 4, 6-8 pm

Established artists: Cecelia Condit and Ras 'Ammar Nsoroma

Emerging artists: Vaughan Larsen, LaNia Sproles, and Natasha Woods

(The museum will be closed June 29 - July 5)

The Greater Milwaukee Foundation’s Mary L. Nohl Fund Fellowships for Individual Artists program annually awards unrestricted funds to emerging and established local artists to support the creation of new work, or the completion of work in progress. Now in its seventeenth cycle, the program makes a significant investment in the greater Milwaukee arts community, encouraging artists to live and make work here. The Fellowships also create—through the jurying process and culminating exhibition—an opportunity to promote local artistic production to a national audience.

This exhibition includes new work by the 2019 Fellows, who were chosen from a field of 159 applicants by a panel of jurors: Dean Daderko, Curator at the Contemporary Arts Museum Houston; Janet Dees, Steven and Lisa Munster Tananbaum Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art at the Mary & Leigh Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University; and Jessica S. Hong, Associate Curator of Global Contemporary Art at the Hood Museum of Art, Dartmouth.

The Nohl Fellowship program is administered in collaboration with the Bradley Family Foundation.



Most exhibitions feature a guide, offering illustrations, essays by national and international scholars and museum staff, artist biographies, exhibition histories, bibliographies and a list of works. Guides are available for purchase at the museum or by emailing us.


  • Monday – Saturday:
    10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
  • Thursday:
    10 a.m. to 8 p.m.
  • Sunday:
    Noon to 5 p.m.