Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees has fiduciary responsibility and is the principal governance authority for Marquette University. The board is responsible for preserving and enhancing Marquette’s mission and ensuring that long-term planning and goals are defined and executed by the university community.

Marquette’s bylaws stipulate that the Board of Trustees be comprised of no fewer than 25 and no more than 40 members, of whom no fewer than five and no more than eight must be members of the Society of Jesus. The university’s president serves ex-officio as a member of the board. The board is self-perpetuating, meaning that trustees are responsible for electing new members. Trustees serve for three-year terms and may be re-elected to serve for a maximum of 12 years. Trustees are volunteers and are not compensated for their service.

The board holds in trust Marquette’s human, physical, and financial assets for future generations. The trustees are stewards of Marquette’s Catholic and Jesuit identity. They establish policies on university strategy, financial management, fundraising, investments, property and assets. The board is responsible for hiring and evaluating the university’s president. The day-to-day administration of Marquette is the responsibility of the university president and his leadership team.


Todd A. AdamsMr. Todd Adams
Vice Chair of the Marquette Board
President and Chief Executive Officer
Rexnord Corporation

Joanna M. BauzaMs. Joanna M. Bauza
Bus Ad '97
The Cervantes Group

Tim M. BergstromMr. Tim M. Bergstrom
Bus Ad '99
President and Chief Operating Officer
Bergstrom Automotive

Robert J. EckMr. Robert J. Eck
Chair of the Marquette Board
Arts ’80
Retired Chief Executive Officer
Anixter International Inc.

Hon. Janine P. GeskeHon. Janine P. Geske
Law ’75
Retired Professor of Law and
Retired Justice of the Wisconsin Supreme Court

Jon D. HammesMr. Jon D. Hammes
Managing Partner
Hammes Company

Nancy HernandezMs. Nancy Hernandez
Grad ’02
Hispanic Collaborative

Rev. Thomas Lawler, S.J.Rev. Thomas A. Lawler, S.J.  
Assistant Director
Jesuit Retreat House

Patrick LawtonMr. Patrick S. Lawton
Bus Ad ’78, Grad ’80
Managing Director of
Fixed Income Capital Markets
Robert W. Baird & Co.

Rev. Brian Linnane, S.J.Rev. Brian F. Linnane, S.J.
Loyola University Maryland

Dr. Michael R. LovellDr. Michael R. Lovell
Marquette University

Mr. Vincent P. LylesMr. Vincent P. Lyles
System Vice President of Community Relations
Advocate Aurora Health Care

Raymond J. ManistaMr. Raymond J. Manista
Arts ’87, Law ’90
Executive Vice President — Chief Legal Officer, Chief Compliance Officer and Secretary
Northwestern Mutual

Rev. Patrick McGrath, S.J.Rev. Patrick McGrath, S.J. 
Loyola Academy

Kelly McShaneMs. Kelly McShane
Arts ’68
Retired School Psychologist





Micky MinhasMr. Micky S. Minhas
Arts ’89
Senior Vice President
Marconi Group





Rev. Thomas Neitzke, S.J.Rev. Thomas W. Neitzke, S.J.
Creighton Preparatory School
Omaha, Nebraska





Janis OrlowskiDr. Janis M. Orlowski
Eng '78
Chief Health Care Officer
Association of American Medical Colleges





Michael RozierRev. Michael Rozier, S.J.
Assistant Professor of
Health Management and Policy
Saint Louis University

Amy SoudersMs. Amy Ford Souders
Arts '92
Principal Director and Founder, Cornerstone Government Affairs

Owen J. SullivanMr. Owen J. Sullivan
Arts ’79
Chief Operating Officer
NCR Corporation

Christopher J. SwiftMr. Christopher J. Swift
Bus Ad '83
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
The Hartford

Peggy TroyMs. Peggy Troy
Nurs '74
President and Chief Executive Officer
Children’s Wisconsin

Mr. Joseph A. WalickiMr. Joseph A. Walicki
Retired Chief Executive Officer and
Vice Chairman

Thomas H. WernerMr. Thomas H. Werner
Eng '86
CEO and Chairman of the Board
SunPower Corporation

Hon. James A. Wynn, Jr. Hon. James A. Wynn, Jr.
Law '79
Federal Appeals Court Judge
US Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

Rev. Michael A. Zampelli, S.J.Rev. Michael A. Zampelli, S.J.
Associate Professor of
Theatre and Dance
Santa Clara University

Corporate Secretary

Steven W. FriederMr. Steven W. Frieder