Annotate Shared Desktop in Teams Meetings
If you share your screen in a Teams meeting, you can make annotations on the screen. Note that annotations will only work with your shared screen/desktop (not with a shared single window). Other attendees can mark up your shared screen, if you allow them.
Annotate Your Shared Screen
- In a Teams meeting, share your screen from the meeting toolbar by clicking or tapping the Share icon.
If you lack the Share icon, ask your meeting organizer about switching you to a presenter role.
- The Share Content panel appears. Be sure to select the Screen option — and not just an individual window.
- When sharing your screen, you will see a red border outline, which indicates your whole screen is being shared. At the top of the screen is a presenting toolbar. If the toolbar is not visible, move your cursor to the top of your screen to reveal the toolbar.
Click or tap the pen icon to start annotations.
- Next, you are prompted to select either "Only I can annotate" or "Everyone can annotate and make changes" (the default). You have 15 seconds before the default option automatically takes effect. Make a selection and click or tap the button to proceed.
- The annotation session begins, and the annotations toolbar appears.
Use the annotations toolbar markup the screen with the following functions:
If you choose the Settings gear icon from the annotations toolbar, you will see the following drop-down menu.
- Laser Pointer
- Add Note
- Add Text
- Add Shape or Line
- Add Reaction
- Clear All Annotations
Note that you can switch between allowing annotations by just you and allowing annotations by everyone. There is also an option to activate collaborative cursors, which include person labels on cursors during annotation.
Please contact the IT Services Help Desk for questions about Microsoft Teams.