Instructors: Control Teams Class Sites via CheckMarq Faculty Center

Use CheckMarq to control Microsoft Teams sites for courses

Microsoft Teams class sites are automatically created, and instructor and student memberships are synced for each class section. Instructors can change this default by logging in to CheckMarq and accessing Faculty Center.

From Faculty Center, scroll to My Teaching Schedule for the upcoming term. Instructors can use the "Create Microsoft Team" checkbox to control Teams sites for their class sections.

Teams site creation schedule

About six weeks prior to the start of the term, Teams site creation for all class sections begins. (The creation process takes several days to complete for all Teams sites, so the exact timing for your class sections may vary.) Once this is done, instructor access is synced to the Teams sites. Student access to the Teams will be automatically synced later.

About two weeks prior to the start of the term, student access is synced to the Teams sites as well. (The initial student sync may take several days to complete, so the exact timing for your class sections may vary.)

You can expect to see all your students on the Teams site one week prior to the start of the term. At this point, if your students are not visible on the Teams site, please contact the IT Services Help Desk.

Depending on when you access My Teaching Schedule, the "Create Microsoft Team" checkbox will vary. See below for the options available to instructors at each step of the Teams site creation process.

If you access your schedule before Teams sites are created:

Teams sites are created for all class sections about six weeks prior to the start of the term.

If Teams sites have not yet been created for your class sections, you can prevent the Teams sites from being created. To do so, uncheck the “Create Microsoft Team” checkbox for the class sections which should not have an automated Teams site. The Teams site status message changes to reflect your choice. Teams sites will be not created for the class sections you unchecked in My Teaching Schedule.

Schedule: Teams created and not created


If you decide later to reinstate Teams sites for class sections, return to My Teaching Schedule. Check the checkbox for the class section(s) that should have a Teams site created and synced. The Teams site status message changes to reflect your choice.

If you access your schedule after Teams sites are created and instructors added/synced but before students are added/synced:

At this point, the Teams sites for your class sections are in place. Instructor access is syncing to the Teams sites. But your students do not have access.

To stop the instructor sync of Teams sites for class sections, uncheck the checkbox for the class section(s). The Teams site status message changes to reflect your choice.

Please note that this opt-out does not automatically delete any Teams sites.

Only the sync to add/remove instructors from the unchecked Teams sites is stopped. With the instructor sync disabled, instructors can manually add or remove members to the Teams site, or manually delete the Teams site entirely.

Schedule: Stop instructor sync


If you choose to reinstate the instructor sync of Teams sites for class sections, return to My Teaching Schedule. Check the checkbox for the class section(s) that should have a synced Teams site. The Teams site status message changes to reflect your choice. If you had manually deleted the Teams site, the Teams site will be recreated.

If you access your schedule after Teams sites are created and after instructors and students are added/synced:

When accessing your schedule at this time, the Teams sites for your class sections are in place. Both instructor access and student memberships are syncing to the Teams sites.

To stop the instructor/student sync of Teams sites for class sections, uncheck the checkbox for the class section(s). The Teams site status message changes to reflect your choice.

Please note that this opt-out does not automatically delete any Teams sites.

Only the sync to add/remove instructors and students from the unchecked Teams sites is stopped. With the instructor/student sync disabled, instructors can manually add or remove members to the Teams site, or manually delete the Teams site entirely.

Schedule: Stop sync for students and instructors


If you choose to reinstate the instructor/student sync of Teams sites for class sections, return to My Teaching Schedule. Check the checkbox for the class section(s) that should have a synced Teams site. The Teams site status message changes to reflect your choice. If you had manually deleted the Teams site, the Teams site will be recreated.

Questions?

Please contact the IT Services Help Desk for questions about Microsoft Teams.