DNC Topic Experts

Digital Ethics

Shion GuhaAssistant professor and director of data science graduate programs 

Abdur ChowdhuryComputer Science

Expertise
: Algorithmic ethics, privacy, human-computer interaction, ICT4D  
Media Type: Print, TV, Radio  
Contact: (414) 288- 1962 
Shion.Guha@marquette.edu 

 

 

Economy

Hold for Melnik

Faith in Politics

Rev. Steven Avella, Professor

Rev. Steven AvellaHistory Department

Expertise: Catholic Life in Southeastern Wisconsin and the American West, Generational and Demographic Changes in the U.S. and Wisconsin Catholicism, Papacy, Papal History, Papal Conclaves, Papal Travels, American Catholicism, Hierarchy, American Religious History, American Catholic History, Pope Benedict XVI

Office Phone: (916) 243-9119
Home Phone: (414) 672-0316
steven.avella@marquette.edu

 

Foreign Policy

Karen HoffmanAssociate Director of the Les Aspin Center 

Karen HoffmanPolitical Science Department

Expertise: Political Communication, media and politics  

Media Type:
 Print, Radio   
Contact: (414) 288- 1573 
Karen.Hoffman@marquettee.edu  

 

Health Care

Lisa Grabert, Visiting Professor of Research

Lisa GrabertNursing

Expertise: Medicare, Medicaid, health reform, health insurance, health economics  

Media Type
: Print, Radio  
Contact: (414) 288-7356 
Lisa.Grabert@marquette.edu   

Philip Rocco, Assistant Professor

Dr. Philip RoccoPolitical Science Department

Expertise: American politics, public policy

Office Phone: (414) 288-3296

Language of Politics

Angela Sorby, Professor

Angela SorbyEnglish Department

Expertise: Poetry

Office Phone: (414) 288-7263
Home Phone: (414) 744-8534
angela.sorby@marquette.edu

 

Middle East

Phillip Naylor, Professor

Phillip NaylorHistory Department

Expertise: Algeria and French Foreign Policy, Middle East, Islam, World Civilizations, North Africa, Rock and Roll, History of Rock and Roll Music

Office Phone: (414) 288-3561
phillip.naylor@marquette.edu

 

Milwaukee Dialect

Steven Hartman Keiser, Associate Professor

Steven Hartman KeiserEnglish Department

Expertise: Sociolinguistics, Language Change, Pennsylvania German (a.k.a. Pennsylvania Dutch)

Office Phone: (414) 288-3465
Home Phone: (414) 282-3619
steven.keiser@marquette.edu

 

Milwaukee History

James Marten, Chair/Professor

James MartenHistory Department

Expertise: Civil War Era, Children and War, Children's History

Office Phone: (414) 288-7901
Home Phone: (414) 258-8480
james.marten@marquette.edu

 

Rev. Steven Avella, Professor

Rev. Steven AvellaHistory Department

Expertise: Catholic Life in Southeastern Wisconsin and the American West, Generational and Demographic Changes in the U.S. and Wisconsin Catholicism, Papacy, Papal History, Papal Conclaves, Papal Travels, American Catholicism, Hierarchy, American Religious History, American Catholic History, Pope Benedict XVI

Office Phone: (916) 243-9119
Home Phone: (414) 672-0316
steven.avella@marquette.edu

 

Milwaukee Music

Bruce Cole, Catalog Librarian/Cujé Music Collection Librarian

Bruce ColeLibraries/Technical Services Department/Bibliographic Resources

Expertise: Milwaukee/Wisconsin popular music, rock history, British Invasion/Beatles, Milwaukee rock band history
Media Type: Print, TV, Radio

Office Phone: (414) 288-2148
Home Phone: (414) 423-6828
bruce.cole@marquette.edu

 

Political Discourse, Civility and Rhetoric

Karen HoffmanAssociate Director of the Les Aspin Center 

Karen HoffmanPolitical Science Department

Expertise: Political Communication, media and politics  

Media Type:
 Print, Radio   
Contact: (414) 288- 1573 
Karen.Hoffman@marquettee.edu  

 

Janine Geske, Distinguished Professor of Law (Retired)

Janine GeskeLaw School

Expertise: Trials, Conflict/Dispute Resolution, Negotiation, Appellate Practice, Media and the Courts, Restorative Justice

Office Phone: (414) 288-7877
Home Phone: (414) 390-0298
janine.geske@marquette.edu

 

Paul Nolette, Associate Professor

Paul NolettePolitical Science

Expertise: Courts and Public Policy, Litigation, Civil Rights and Liberties, State Attorneys General

Office Phone: (414) 288-5821
Mobile Phone: (508) 245-1845
paul.nolette@marquette.edu

 

Political Parties

Julia Azari, Associate Professor

Julia AzariPolitical Science

Expertise: Presidency, Congress, Political Parties and Ideologies

Office Phone: (414) 288-6211
julia.azari@marquette.edu

 

Kristen Foster, Associate Professor

Kristen FosterHistory Department

Expertise: U.S. History: Early American (1776-1865), American Cultural History, American Women's History

Office Phone: (414) 288-3562
kristen.foster@marquette.edu

 

Race, Ethnicity, Immigration and Latinx Studies

Dr. Grant Silva, Associate Professor

Grant SilvaPhilosophy

Expertise: Latin American philosophy, political philosophy and the philosophy of race/ethics of racism.

(414) 288-5653

grant.silva@marquette.edu

 

Russian Politics

Lowell Barrington, Chair and Associate Professor

Lowell BarringtonPolitical Science

Expertise: Russian Politics, Patriotism in the U.S., Nationalism, Ethnic Conflict

Office Phone: (414) 288-5234
lowell.barrington@marquette.edu

 

Urban Issues

 

Amber Wichowsky, Associate Professor

Amber WichowskyPolitical Science

Expertise: Campaigns, Elections, Public Opinion, Voter Turnout

Office Phone: (414) 288-3422
amber.wichowsky@marquette.edu

 

Water Policy/Clean Water

David StriflingDirector, Water Law and Policy Initiative and Adjunct Professor of Law

Law

Expertise: Environmental Law, Water Law  

Media Type:
 Print, TV, Radio 
Contact: (414) 288-8036 
David.Strifling@marquette.edu 

Patrick McNamara, Assistant Professor

Patrick McNamaraCivil, Construction and Environmental Engineering

Expertise: Environmental Chemistry, Environmental Microbiology, antibiotic resistance, wastewater treatment 

Media Type: Print, TV, Radio
 
Contact: (414) 288-2188 
patrick.mcnamara@marquette.edu