"The rapprochement of peoples is only possible when differences of culture and outlook are respected and appreciated rather than feared and condemned, when the common bond of human dignity is recognized as the essential bond for a peaceful world."  —J. William Fulbright

The Fulbright Program, the U.S. government's flagship program in international educational exchange, was proposed to the U.S. Congress in 1945 by then freshman Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas. In the aftermath of World War II, Senator Fulbright viewed the proposed program as a much-needed vehicle for promoting "mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries of the world." His vision was approved by Congress and the program was signed into law by President Truman in 1946.

The Fulbright Program is sponsored by the United States Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Under a cooperative agreement with the Bureau, the Council for International Exchange of Scholars (CIES) assists in the administration of the Fulbright Scholar Program.

Currently, the traditional Fulbright Scholar Program sends approximately 800 U.S. scholars and professionals abroad to 125 countries each year for two to twelve months. Grantees lecture and/or conduct research in a wide variety of academic and professional fields.

For additional information about the Fulbright Program, please feel free to email Averia Flasch, Marquette University's Fulbright Campus Representative, in the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, or visit the CIES Web site.

Applying for a Fulbright

Marquette University Fulbright Recipients

Sponsoring a Visiting Fulbright Scholar











Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
1324 West Wisconsin Avenue
Holthusen Hall, Suite 341
Milwaukee, WI 53233