Summer Research Program Faculty Mentors

David A. Baker, Ph.D.David A. Baker, Ph.D.
Department of Biomedical Sciences
david.baker@marquette.edu
Neurobiology of cocaine addiction


Murray BlackmoreMurray Blackmore, Ph.D.
Department of Biomedical Sciences
murray.blackmore@marquette.edu
Spinal Cord Injury


Jeffrey Berry, Ph.D.Jeffrey Berry, Ph.D.
Department of Speech Pathology and Audiology

jeffrey.berry@marquette.edu
Speech, language, cognition, and sensorimotor control and speech intelligibility


SuJean ChoiSuJean Choi, Ph.D.
Department of Biomedical Sciences
sujean.choi@marquette.edu
Appetite regulation, obesity, anorexia and other appetite-related disorders


William E. Cullinan, Ph.D.William E. Cullinan, Ph.D.
Department of Biomedical Sciences
william.cullinan@marquette.edu
Stress neurobiology, neuroanatomy, neuroendocrinology


Jennifer Evans, Ph.D.Jennifer Evans, Ph.D.
Department of Biomedical Sciences
jennifer.evans@marquette.edu
Circadian system, suprachiasmatic nucleus research


Paul Gasser, Ph.D.Paul Gasser, Ph.D.
Department of Biomedical Sciences
paul.gasser@marquette.edu
Neurobiology of stress; Cellular mechanisms underlying stress hormone action


Mohammadhossein (M. Behnam) Ghasemzadeh, Ph.D.Mohammadhossein (M. Behnam) Ghasemzadeh, Ph.D.
Department of Biomedical Sciences
behnam.ghasemzadeh@marquette.edu
Synaptic transmission and plasticity in drug abuse


Marieke Gilmartin, Ph.D.Marieke Gilmartin, Ph.D.
Department of Biomedical Sciences
marieke.gilmartin@marquette.edu
Optogenetics, role of the prefrontal cortex, hippocampus and amygdala on emotional memory


April Harkins, Ph.D., MT (ASCP)April Harkins, Ph.D., MT (ASCP)
Department of Clinical Laboratory Science
april.harkins@marquette.edu
Lipid signaling and cell polarity in yeast

 

 

 

 

Matthew Hearing, Ph.D.Matthew Hearing, Ph.D.
Department of Biomedical Sciences
matthew.hearing@marquette.edu
neurobiology of addiction and schiophrenia; electrophysiology; optogenetics

Marie Hoeger Bement, Ph.DMarie Hoeger Bement, Ph.D
Department of Physical Therapy
mariehoeger.bement@marquette.edu
Exercise-induced analgesia in musculoskeletal pain

 

 

 

Sandra Hunter, Ph.D.Sandra Hunter, Ph.D.
Department of Physical Therapy, Program in Exercise Science
sandra.hunter@marquette.edu
The neural and muscular mechanism contribution to the sex, age and task differences in muscle fatigue in humans

Allison Hyngstrom, Ph.D.Allison Hyngstrom, Ph.D.
Department of Physical Therapy
allison.hyngstrom@marquette.edu
Motor control physiology and pathophysiology

 

 

 

 

Jenya Iuzzini-Seigel, Ph.D.

Jenya Iuzzini-Seigel, Ph.D., CCC-SLP
Department of Speech Pathology and Audiology
jenya.iuzzini-seigel@marquette.edu

Kristoff Kipp, Ph.D.Kristoff Kipp, Ph.D.
Department of Physical Therapy, Program in Exercise Science
kristoff.kipp@marquette.edu
Prevention and rehabilitation of musculoskeletal injuries

 

 

Nilanjan Lodh, Ph.D.Nilanjan (Nil) Lodh, Ph.D.
Department of Clinical Laboratory Science
nilanjan.lodh@marquette.edu
Improved diagnostics of neglected tropical diseases

Douglas C. Lobner, Ph.D.Douglas C. Lobner, Ph.D.
Department of Biomedical Sciences
doug.lobner@marquette.edu
Mechanisms of cell death in neurodegenerative diseases, neurotrophic factors, stroke


John R. MantschJohn R. Mantsch, Ph.D.
Department of Biomedical Sciences
john.mantsch@marquette.edu
Stress and drug addiction

 

 

 

 

Erik Munson, Ph.D.Erik Munson, Ph.D.
Department of Clinical Laboratory Science
erik.munson@marquette.edu
Epidemiologic surveillance of sexually transmitted infections, antimicrobial resistance

Alexander Ng, Ph.D., FACSMAlexander Ng, Ph.D., FACSM
Department of Physical Therapy, Program in Exercise Science
alexander.ng@marquette.edu
Muscle fatigue in multiple sclerosis


Robert (Bob) Peoples, Ph.D.Robert (Bob) Peoples, Ph.D.
Department of Biomedical Sciences
robert.peoples@marquette.edu
Effects of alcohol on the NMDA receptor


Sheila Schindler-Ivens, P.T., Ph.D.Sheila Schindler-Ivens, P.T., Ph.D.
Department of Physical Therapy
sheila.schindler-ivens@marquette.edu
Neuromuscular control of locomotion in health people and individuals with nervous system injury


Kevin R. Siebenlist, Ph.D.Kevin R. Siebenlist, Ph.D.
Department of Biomedical Sciences
kevin.siebenlist@marquette.edu
Interactions of fibin(ogen) with other proteins of the coagulation cascade


Robert A. Wheeler, Ph.D.Robert A. Wheeler, Ph.D.
Department of Biomedical Sciences
robert.wheeler@marquette.edu
Neural regulation of emotion and the control it exerts over adaptive and maladaptive behavior