Enrolling users in groups

Users are enrolled in groups based on the enrollment options selected on the New Category page. Use the Enroll Users page to:

Modify or add enrollment

  1. On the Manage Groups page, click Enroll Users from the context menu of the category that contains the group (or groups) you want to enroll a user in.
  2. Select the group you want from the Display drop-down list.
  3. Enter information in the Search For field to find for a specific user. You can do an empty Search to find all users.

    Tip  Select the Not Enrolled search option to find users that still need to be added to a group.

  4. Select the check boxes beside each user's name to add them to groups. Clear check boxes to unenroll users from groups.
  5. Click Save.

Tip  Manually enrolling users allow you to exceed the enrollment limit for a group.

Enrolling course leaders in groups

How a user that can lead courses is enrolled in groups depends on whether they have access to all groups or only select groups. Users should have access to all groups if they are responsible for mediating, grading, and working on material for the entire class. They should have access to select groups if they are only responsible for mediating, grading, or working on material for a particular group.

Best practice  Add staff that are working with select groups the same way you add users.

Important  If  the ‘Can be auto-enrolled’ option is selected for users that can lead courses and assisting users are added to groups at the same time as users; all or most of your staff might end up in the same group. Make sure you even out enrollment using the Enroll Users page.

Modify or add enrollment for users that can lead courses

  1. On the Manage Groups page, click Enroll Users from the context menu of the category that contains the group (or groups) you want to enroll a user in.
  2. Search for the user you want to add in the Search For field.
  3. Select the check boxes beside each user's name to add them to groups. Clear check boxes to unenroll users from groups.
  4. Click Save.

Tip  Use the Not Enrolled search option to see a list of users that need to be enrolled.

What happens when you move a user to a new group?

Discussion messages remain in the old group and do not count towards a user’s grade if the forum or topic is associated with a grade item. The user must satisfy the discussion message requirements in the new section. You can override a grade using the Grades tool.

Locker files remain in the old group. Users must add any files they want to keep to the new locker area themselves.

Dropbox submissions submitted for the old group remain with the old group. The user receives the grade achieved by the new group on any group dropbox folders. You can change the user’s grade back to the original group’s mark in the Grades tool.

 

Desire2Learn Help | About Learning Environment