Our Awards


Teaching Excellence Award Winners

The Faculty Awards for Teaching Excellence recognize faculty who inspire students to seek the ideals of the university and cause them to grow in knowledge and scholarship for the glory of God and the good of others.

The nominations are made by faculty and students each year and the winners are chosen by eight reviewers. Each award winner receives a $5,000 stipend and is honored in a formal awards ceremony at the annual Père Marquette Dinner on the first Thursday in May, a gathering that honors the university's namesake, Jesuit missionary and explorer Father Jacques Marquette.

Teaching Excellence Award Recipients


Dr. Daniel Meissner, associate professor
Department of History

Dr. John Su, professor, director of the Core of Common Studies
Department of English

2013 Dr. Stephen Franzoi, professor
Department of Psychology

Dr. Richard Jones
, professor
Department of Social & Cultural Sciences
2012 Dr. John (Jack) Moyer, professor
Department of Mathematics, Statistics & Computer Science

Dr. Rebecca Nowacek, associate professor
Department of English
2011 Dr. Barry Velleman, professor emeritus
Department of Foreign Languages & Literature
2010 Rev Steven Avella, professor
Department of History

Dr. Theresa Tobin, associate professor
Department of Philosophy
2009 Rev. Bryan Massingale, professor
Department of Theology
2008 Dr. Edward de St. Aubin, associate professor
Department of Psychology

Dr. Nancy Snow, professor
Department of Philosophy

Dr. Rosemary Stuart, professor
Department of Biological Sciences

Dr. Amelia Zurcher, associate professor
Department of English

View Previous Award Winners

Klingler College of Arts and Sciences

Marquette University, Sensenbrenner Hall, 103
P.O. Box 1881
1103 W. Wisconsin Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53201-1881
(414) 288-7059
Visit the contact page for more information