Philosophy Department Faculty

Noel Adams, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison


Corinne Bloch-Mullins, Ph.D., Hebrew University of Jerusalem; Ph.D., Tel Aviv University, epistemology, philosophy of science, and philosophy of cognitive science

Curtis L. Carter, Ph.D., Boston University, Aesthetics

Yoon H. Choi, Ph.D., University of Cambridge, Kant

Kevin W. Gibson, Ph.D., University of Colorado, Boulder, Ethics, Applied Ethics, Business Ethics

Owen M. Goldin, Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, Ancient Philosophy

Stanley M. Harrison, Ph.D., Fordham University, American Pragmatists, C.S.Peirce, Process Philosophy

Javier A. Ibez-No, Ph.D., University of Toronto, 19th and 20th Century German Philosophy

Rev. John D. Jones, Ph.D., Boston College, Dionysius the Areopagite, Neoplatonism, Eastern Christian Spirituality, Philosophy of Poverty

Sebastian Luft, Ph.D., University of Wuppertal, 19th & 20th Century European  Philosophy; Phenomenology

Anthony F. Peressini, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Mind/Consciousness, Philosophy of Math.

Katherine Rickus, Ph.D., Columbia University, Philosophy of Mind

Grant Silva, Ph.D., University of Oregon, Latin American Philosophy; Social & Political Philosophy; Philosophy of Race. 

James B. South, Ph.D., Duke University, Renaissance Philosophy, Cavell and Ordinary Language Philosophy, Popular Culture, and Psychoanalysis

Richard C. Taylor, Ph.D., University of Toronto, Medieval philosophy in Arabic and Latin, Ancient philosophy

Theresa W. Tobin, Ph.D., University of Colorado

Ericka Tucker, Ph.D., Emory University, Early Modern Philosophy; Social and Political Philosophy

David B. Twetten, Ph.D., University of Toronto, Ancient and Medieval Philosophy; Metaphysics; History of Analytic Philosophy

Pol G. Vandevelde, Ph.D., Université de Louvain, Contemporary French and German philosophy, theory of interpretation, critical theory

Margaret Urban Walker, Ph.D., Northwestern University, Ethics, Reparative                  Justice, Human Rights, Feminism

Michael J. Wreen, Ph.D., Temple University, Aesthetics, Argumentation theory, Ethics

Visiting Assistant Professors

Emeritus and Retired Faculty

Thomas C. Anderson, Ph.D., Marquette University
Robert B. Ashmore, Ph.D., University of Notre Dame

Patrick Coffey, Ph.D., St. Louis University

Howard Kainz, Ph.D., Duquesne University

Rev. T. Michael McNulty, S.J., Ph.D., University of Minnesota

Joseph J. O'Malley, Ph.D., Marquette University
Thomas L. Prendergast, Ph.D., St. Louis University
Lee C. Rice, Ph.D., St. Louis University
Rev. Walter J. Stohrer, S.J., Ph.D., Georgetown University                                           Andrew Tallon, Ph.D., Universite de Louvain
Michael G. Vater, Ph.D., Yale University                                                              Margaret Urban Walker, Ph.D. Northwestern University


Dept. of Philosophy
Marquette University
PO Box 1881
Milwaukee, WI 53201-1881

(414) 288-6857 (phone)
(414) 288-3010 (fax)

Philosophy Department

Marquette University
PO Box 1881
Milwaukee, WI 53201-1881
(414) 288-6857 (phone)
(414) 288-3010 (fax)
Visit the contact page for more information