Give Marquette

Marquette University Alumni Association

J. William and Mary Diederich College of Communication Award Recipients

Communicator of the Year

John BernadenJOHN A. BERNADEN, JOUR '78

In his 10 years as director of corporate communications for Rockwell Automation, John has leveraged his passion for external communication with the skills and values ingrained in him by Marquette.

By-Line Award

John W. MachacekJOHN W. MACHACEK, JOUR '62
Centreville, Va.

Journalism was John’s passion no matter the kind of story he was covering. Which he did for more than 40 years, winning several awards, including the Pulitzer Prize, for his work on the education, city government and political beats, among others.

Professional Achievement Award

John F. SteinmillerJOHN F. STEINMILLER, JOUR '70

You’d be hard-pressed to find somebody who has invested more of his time and talent in a sports organization than John, who has been with the Milwaukee Bucks for 45 years and is executive vice president of community affairs and social responsibility.

Young Alumnus of the Year Award

Luis HernandezLUIS HERNANDEZ, JR., COMM '01

In a short time, Luis has ascended quickly in the communications and public relations industry, priding himself on the relationships he has established and cultivates each day and the trust his clients place in him to deliver his best work.

James T. Tiedge Memorial Award

Kimberly S. SchwandtKIMBERLY S. SCHWANDT, COMM '01
Washington, D.C.

She has asked President Obama and Vice President Biden questions as a member of the press pool, was on Air Force One the day President Obama authorized the Osama bin Laden mission, has flown to multiple countries, including South Africa, Saudi Arabia, Cambodia, Israel, Burma, Australia and South Korea, and more. All in a day’s work for Kimberly.