Online Exhibitions

June 11, 2021 – May 22, 2022


The Greater Milwaukee Foundation’s Mary L. Nohl Fund



Established artists

Ck Ledesma
Nirmal Raja

Emerging artists

Janelle Gramling
Rosy petri
Leah Schretenthaler

The Greater Milwaukee Foundation’s Mary L. Nohl Fund Fellowships for Individual Artists program annually awards unrestricted funds to emerging and established local artists to support the creation of new work, or the completion of work in progress. Now in its eighteenth cycle, the program makes a significant investment in the greater Milwaukee arts community, encouraging artists to live and make work here. The Fellowships also create—through the jurying process and culminating exhibition—an opportunity to promote local artistic production to a national audience.

This year’s exhibition has moved to an online platform – The Haggerty Museum of Art’s Google Arts & Culture site. Individual galleries will feature the work of the five fellows and will be accompanied by the interpretive materials traditionally offered at the Museum—including artist statements, biographies, and catalogue essays. Additional multi-media content will be added to the virtual exhibition throughout the course of the exhibition period, offering increased access to the artists themselves and providing additional insights into their working processes.

The virtual exhibition includes new work by the 2020 Fellows, who were chosen from a field of 151 applicants by a panel of three jurors:  Kimberli Gant, McKinnon Curator of Modern & Contemporary Art at the Chrysler Museum in Norfolk, VA; Ashley James, Associate Curator, Contemporary Art at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York; and Shamim M. Momin, Director of Curatorial Affairs at the Henry Art Gallery in Seattle, WA. For the first time, the entire jurying process was conducted virtually. It unfolded in several stages over a period of seven weeks, culminating in virtual studio visits with the seven finalists in the Established Artist category.

The Nohl Fellowship program is administered in collaboration with the Lynden.