Marquette University conferred the Père Marquette Discovery Award on the Little Rock Nine on Feb. 9, 2010.

Watch the Webcast

Little Rock Nine receiving the Père Marquette Discovery Award
Little Rock Nine Students

Photo: starting from the back left, Ernest Green and Jefferson Thomas; Thelma Mothershed Wair, Minnijean Brown Trickey, Elizabeth Eckford; and front left, Terrence Roberts, soldier, Melba Pattillo Beals, Gloria Ray Karlmark and Carlotta Walls LaNier

About the little rock nine

The Little Rock Nine became an integral part of the fight for equal opportunity in American education when they dared to challenge segregation in public schools by enrolling at all-white Central High School in 1957.

The PÈre Marquette Discovery Award

The Père Marquette Discovery Award is Marquette University’s highest honor. In the spirit of the discoveries of Père Jacques Marquette, the award honors those who achieve an extraordinary breakthrough that adds to human knowledge or the advancement of humanity.

previous recipients:

2003 – Archbishop Desmond Tutu
1981 – Mother Teresa
1979 – Rev. Karl Rahner, S.J.
1969 – Apollo 11 Astronauts