Three Marquette faculty members earn prestigious Fulbright Awards

May 17, 2017

MILWAUKEE — Three Marquette University faculty members have earned Fulbright Awards. The 2017 recipients are Drs. Marie Bement, associate professor of physical therapy in the College of Health Sciences; Karene Boos, an adjunct faculty in the physical therapy department; and Daniel Meissner, associate professor of history in the Klingler College of Arts and Sciences.

Bement will travel to the Center for Neuroplasticity and Pain in Aalborg, Denmark in the fall to research non-pharmacological chronic pain management.

"It's an honor to be able to work with some of the foremost researchers in the field of pain and exercise studies," Bement said.

Boos, who helped establish the ZeruZeru Simama Sasa foundation in Tanzania, will continue her work there and will help build a physical therapy program at the Catholic University of Health and Allied Sciences in Mwanza, Tanzania.

"This program will facilitate an increase in access to the rehabilitative benefits of physical therapy in a developing country where many health needs go unmet," Boos said.

The two Fulbright additions in the physical therapy program mark four active faculty members who have received Fulbright Awards in physical therapy, including Bement, Boos, Dr. Donald Neumann and Dr. Guy Simoneau.

Meissner will travel to China to teach Sino-American relations at Xiamen University in the fall, and at the University of Hong Kong in the spring.

"I hope to gain deeper insight into the concerns, ambitions, attitudes, motivations and beliefs of my Chinese students that will further enrich the courses that I teach at Marquette," Meissner said.

In addition to its three faculty Fulbright Award recipients, Marquette will host Dr. Josep Puig Montada, a Fulbright fellow from Spain. Dr. Richard Taylor, professor of philosophy and a 2016 Fulbright recipient, is Montada's faculty host at the university.