Two Marquette biological sciences faculty named fellows by Ecological Society of America

March 29, 2021

Dr. Stefan SchnitzerDr. Nathan LemoineMILWAUKEE — Dr. Stefan Schnitzer, Mellon Distinguished Professor of Plant Community and Tropical Forest Ecology, and Dr. Nathan Lemoine, assistant professor of trophic and quantitative ecology, in Marquette University’s Klingler College of Arts and Sciences have been named fellows by the Ecological Society of America.

Schnitzer was elected as a Fellow of the Ecological Society of America and Lemoine was elected as an ESA Early Career Fellow.

“On behalf of the Klingler College of Arts and Sciences, I want to congratulate Stefan and Nathan for these honors,” said Dr. Heidi Bostic, dean of the Klingler College of Arts and Sciences. “They are shining examples of the quality of faculty we have within the college and, specifically, in our Biological Sciences Department. This is tremendous recognition for Stefan and represents his remarkable work, both through groundbreaking research and within the ecology community. I am also excited for Nathan, as this honor is indicative of his tremendous impact on the field at this stage of his career.”

Schnitzer was elected as a Fellow of the ESA for his outstanding contributions to tropical forest community and ecosystems ecology through groundbreaking research on lianas, as well as his exceptional mentoring of junior scientists and for being a generous collaborator.

Lemoine was elected as an ESA Early Career Fellow for integrating ecophysiology into community ecology to provide mechanistic predictions for how climate change will impact ecosystem structure and function, and for his advocacy to improve statistical practices in ecology.

Fellows of the ESA are members who have made outstanding contributions to a wide range of fields served by ESA, including, but not restricted to, those that advance or apply ecological knowledge in academics, government, non-profit organizations, and the broader society. They are elected for life. Meanwhile, Early Career Fellows are members who, within eight years of completing their doctoral training or other terminal degree, have advanced ecological knowledge and applications and show promise of continuing to make outstanding contributions to a wide range of fields served by ESA. They are elected for five years.

The Ecological Society of America was founded in 1915 to promote ecological science by improving communication among ecologists; raise the public’s level of awareness of the importance of ecological science; increase the resources available for the conduct of ecological science; and ensure the appropriate use of ecological science in environmental decision making by enhancing communication between the ecological community and policymakers.

About Kevin Conway

Kevin Conway

Kevin is the associate director for university communication in the Office of University Relations. Contact Kevin at (414) 288-4745 or