Alumni National Awards 2023: Marquette University alumni, friends honored for excellence

June 5, 2023

MILWAUKEE — Marquette University’s Alumni National Awards honor distinguished alumni, parents and friends who embody Marquette’s mission through their character, personal and professional achievements, and their impact on the community and others.

Award recipients include individuals from each of the university’s colleges and professional schools. They embody Marquette’s spirit and mission in searching for truth, discovering and sharing knowledge, fostering excellence, promoting faith, and developing leadership through serving others.

The National Alumni Awards celebration is a part of Marquette’s Alumni Reunion Weekend. The Alumni Association welcomed graduates from undergraduate class years ending in a 3 or 8 and its First Reunion (Class of 2022) to Milwaukee, June 2-4.

Short profiles of the honorees are available on Marquette’s Alumni National Awards webpage.


Alumnus of the Year Award

Thomas H. Werner

Los Altos, California

Werner started his educational and career path with high aspirations and specific goals — the type of dreams and opportunities he now hopes to empower for others. He recognizes how fortunate he has been to receive the education and achieve the professional success that has shaped his life, and he’s made it a personal mission to enable the same experiences for future generations of Marquette students.

Professional Achievement Award

Rajesh Vashist

Los Altos Hills, California

Vashist believes in the power of innovation — in technology, business and culture. He believes that all three factors are required, and they must be in balance for a company to grow and prosper over decades. He also believes that one way to make the world a better place is to provide the people in his company an environment where they can become the best version of themselves.

Service Award

Dr. Howard L. Fuller


From his early days as a grassroots activist, Dr. Howard Fuller demonstrated his skill as a leader — and his instinctive ability to develop the leadership potential in others. His capacity to find and nurture this potential in people catalyzed the success of the many movements he has initiated.

Spirit of Marquette Award (achievement before age 40)

Elizabeth Feste McCostlin and Adam M. McCostlin

Evanston, Illinois

Today, Adam and Beth McCostlin credit Marquette for igniting their passion to make a difference and equipping them both with the determination to "go forth and set the world on fire." Neither can imagine having chosen a different academic path. But as teens preparing to submit college applications, Marquette hadn't been on either of their radars.


The names of the alumni who will be honored are below. Visit the Marquette University Alumni National Awards webpage for additional informational on each award winner.

Helen Way Klingler College of Arts and Sciences

Distinguished Alumna of the Year Award — Dr. Patricia F. Golden-Beckmann

Professional Achievement Award — Dr. Songzhou Hu

A Person for Others Award — Pardeep S. Kaleka

Young Alumni of the Year Award — Elizabeth Warmuth Ryan and Stephen J. Ryan, Jr.

Association of Marquette University Women

Mary Neville Bielefeld Award — Dr. Susan Moser Mountin

AMUW Ignatian Leadership Award — Heidi H. Schuler

AMUW Nora Finnigan Werra Faculty Achievement Award — Dr. Louise A. Cainkar

College of Business Administration

Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Award — Robert W. Hau

Service Award — Richard A. Broeren, Jr.

Entrepreneurial Award — Patricia A. O. Trompeter

Professional Achievement Award — Marcelo Bartholo

  1. William and Mary Diederich College of Communication

Communicator of the Year Award — Coreen M. Dicus-Johnson

Byline Award — Jeffery J. Gerritt

Professional Achievement Award — Maureen A. FitzPatrick

Young Alumna of the Year Award — Dr. Shirley J. Knowles

James T. Tiedge Memorial Award — Maryann Lazarski

College of Education

Distinguished Alumna of the Year Award — Emily Doyle Iland

Young Alumnus of the Year Award — Michael A. Derrick

Opus College of Engineering

Distinguished Alumna of the Year Award — Dr. Jennifer Schilling Connelly

Professional Achievement Award — John P. McCarty

Entrepreneurial Award — David R. Mayhood

Young Alumnus of the Year Award — Matthew W. Trautschold

College of Health Sciences

Distinguished Alumna of the Year Award — Dr. Jane Eichten Gunther

Professional Achievement Award — Katherine Wolske Brewer

Service Award — Fabiola Torres Boche

Young Alumna of the Year Award — Dr. Monica R. Krcmarik Edwards

College of Nursing

Distinguished Alumna of the Year Award — Jennifer Burdick Minhas

Professional Achievement Award — Dr. Chris Winkelman

Service Award — Ann Wagner Kolshak

Young Alumna of the Year Award — Ellen C. Carlson

Department of Intercollegiate Athletics

Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Award — Wesley D. Matthews IV

Young Alumna of the Year Award — Ashley Baird-Gaare

Friends of Marquette Athletics Award — Nancy Geenen and Dr. Joseph E. Geenen

M Club Hy Popuch Memorial Service Award — Aaron J. Baker (posthumously)

Robert L. and William P. McCahill Award — Hunter S. Eichhorn

Institute for Women’s Leadership

The Institute for Women’s Leadership Excellence Award — Claire L. Rolfs

Law School

Alumnus of the Year Award — Mark L. Thomsen

Lifetime Achievement Award — Patricia A. McGowan

Howard B. Eisenberg Service Award — Isioma O. Nwabuzor

Charles W. Mentkowski Sports Law Alumnus of the Year Award — Andre N. Salhab

Pedro Arrupe Award

Pedro Arrupe Award — Viviana Bojorquez

School of Dentistry

Distinguished Alumnus in Dentistry Award — Dr. Donald J. DeNucci

Outstanding Dental Service Award — Dr. John L. Scheels

Young Alumna of the Year Award — Dr. Sarah H. Blair

About Marquette University

Marquette University is a Catholic, Jesuit university located near the heart of downtown Milwaukee that offers a comprehensive range of majors in 11 nationally and internationally recognized colleges and schools. Through the formation of hearts and minds, Marquette prepares our 11,100 undergraduate, graduate, doctoral and professional students to lead, excel and serve as agents of positive change. And, we deliver results. Ranked in the top 20% of national universities, Marquette is recognized for its undergraduate teaching, innovation and career preparation as the sixth-best university in the country for job placement. Our focus on student success and immersive, personalized learning experiences encourages students to think critically and engage with the world around them. When students graduate with a Marquette degree, they are truly prepared and called to Be The Difference.

About Kevin Conway

Kevin Conway

Kevin is the associate director for university communication in the Office of University Relations. Contact Kevin at (414) 288-4745 or