Experts in Religion and Philosophy — Religion and Theology

Rev. Steven Avella, Professor

Rev. Steven AvellaHistory Department

Expertise: Catholic Life in Southeastern Wisconsin and the American West, Generational and Demographic Changes in the U.S. and Wisconsin Catholicism, Papacy, Papal History, Papal Conclaves, Papal Travels, American Catholicism, Hierarchy, American Religious History, American Catholic History, Pope Benedict XVI

Office Phone: (916) 243-9119
Home Phone: (414) 672-0316
steven.avella@marquette.edu

 

Joshua Burns, Associate Professor

Joshua BurnsTheology Department

Expertise: Hebrew Bible/Old Testament Interpretation, Judaism and Jewish-Christian Relations

Office Phone: (414) 288-6776
Home Phone: (414) 446-6488
joshua.burns@marquette.edu

 

Patrick Carey, Professor Emeritus

Patrick CareyTheology Department

Expertise: Church History, Historical Theology, Current Trends in American Catholicism

Office Phone: (414) 288-7189
Home Phone: (920) 726-4491
patrick.carey@marquette.edu

 

Julian Hills, Associate Professor

Julian HillsTheology Department

Expertise: Jesus and the Gospels, New Testament, Origins of the Church, Relationships between Episcopal Church and Roman Catholic Church

Office Phone: (414) 288-3776
Home Phone: (414) 332-3115
julian.hills@marquette.edu

 

Scott Idleman, Professor

Scott IdlemanLaw School

Expertise: First Amendment, Constitutional Law, Federal Law Concerning Indian Tribes, Separation of Church and State, Federal Judiciary, Separation of Church and State

Office Phone: (414) 288-5362
Home Phone: (262) 377-2827
scott.idleman@marquette.edu

 

Mark Johnson, Associate Professor

Mark JohnsonTheology Department
Academic Integrity Director

Expertise: Catholic Ethics, Medieval Theology, Catholic Theology, Moral Philosophy and Theology

Office Phone: (414) 288-7646
Home Phone: (262) 938-0308
mark.johnson@marquette.edu

 

Rev. John Laurance, S.J., Associate Professor Emeritus

Rev. John Laurance, S.J.Theology Department

Expertise: Liturgical History and Theology, Liturgical Year

Office Phone: (414) 288-3734
Home Phone: (414) 288-5052
john.laurance@marquette.edu

 

Ulrich Lehner, Professor

Ulrich LehnerTheology Department

Expertise: Church History, Enlightenment, European History, European Philosophy (1600-1900), Papacy, Papal History

Office Phone: (414) 288-7333
ulrich.lehner@marquette.edu

 

Mickey Mattox, Professor

Mickey MattoxTheology Department

Expertise: Protestant Reformation, Lutheran-Orthodox Ecumenical Theology, Martin Luther

Office Phone: (414) 288-3736
mickey.mattox@marquette.edu

 

Susan Mountin, Director

Susan MountinPastoral Leadership in a Cultural Context

Expertise: Catholic Worker Movement, Dorothy Day, Discerning a Vocation, Life Choices, Raising Children in the Faith, Women in Ministry, Ignatian Spirituality, Prayer, Catholic Social Teaching

Office Phone: (414) 288-3693
Home Phone: (414) 453-9583
susan.mountin@marquette.edu

 

Irfan Omar, Associate Professor

Irfan OmarTheology Department

Expertise: Islamic Faith, Muslims in America

Office Phone: (414) 288-3746
irfan.omar@marquette.edu

 

Andrei Orlov, Professor

Andrei OrlovTheology Department

Expertise: Jewish and Christian Apocalyptic Literature, Jewish Mysticism, Enochic Traditions

Office Phone: (414) 288-6802
andrei.orlov@marquette.edu

 

Peter Rofes, Professor

Peter RofesLaw School
Director of Part-Time Legal Education

Expertise: Legal Education, First Amendment, Constitutional Law, Judicial Selection, Legal Ethics, Religion and the Law, Flag Desecration

Office Phone: (414) 288-5361
peter.rofes@marquette.edu

 

Phillip Runkel, Archivist

Phillip RunkelLibraries/Special Collections and Archives

Expertise: Catholic Worker Movement, Dorothy Day

Office Phone: (414) 288-5903
phil.runkel@marquette.edu

 

Jame Schaefer, Associate Professor

Jame SchaeferTheology Department

Expertise: Environmental Ethics, Ecological Problems, Relation Between Science and Religion/Judeo-Christianity (Including Religious Faith and Medical Treatment), Evolution and Theology, Intelligent Design Movement, Evolution and Theology, Theology and Technology, Theological Foundations for Environmental Ethics, Religion and Science

Office Phone: (414) 288-3742
Home Phone: (414) 271-9364
jame.schaefer@marquette.edu

 

Richard Taylor, Professor

Richard TaylorPhilosophy Department

Expertise: Islam

Office Phone: (414) 288-5649
richard.taylor@marquette.edu

 

Mark George Thiel, Archivist

Mark George ThielLibraries/Special Collections and Archives

Expertise: Catholic Missions to Native Americans in North and Latin America, Catholic Missions to Native Americans in North and Latin America

Office Phone: (414) 288-5904
Home Phone: (262) 521-9270
mark.thiel@marquette.edu

 

William Thorn, Associate Professor

William ThornJournalism and Media Studies

Expertise: Children and the Media, Religious Communication, Media and Religion, Catholic Church and Media, Vatican and Media, Catholic Press, History of American Media

Office Phone: (414) 288-3447
Home Phone: (414) 447-7386
william.thorn@marquette.edu

 

Susan Wood, SCL, Chair and Professor

Susan Wood, SCLTheology Department

Expertise: Ecumenism, Catholic Church

Office Phone: (414) 288-1967
susan.wood@marquette.edu