Experts in Social Issues — Multiculturalism

Alan Burkard, Chair/Professor

Alan BurkardCounselor Education and Counseling Psychology

Expertise: School Counseling Programs in K-12 schools, Academic and Career and Personal-social Concerns, Cultural Issues in Counseling and Clinical Supervision, Program Evaluation and Reform of School Counseling Programs

Office Phone: (414) 288-3434
alan.burkard@marquette.edu

 

Louise Cainkar, Associate Professor

Louise CainkarSocial and Cultural Sciences

Expertise: Muslims, Muslims in the U.S., Arab Americans, Immigrants, US Immigration Policy, Islamophobia

Office Phone: (414) 288-5714
Home Phone: (773) 561-7260
Mobile Phone: (773) 218-0798
louise.cainkar@marquette.edu

 
 

Sharon Chubbuck, Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

Sharon ChubbuckEducational Policy and Leadership

Expertise: Multicultural Education, Critical Literacy, Secondary Language Arts in Multicultural Settings, Teaching for Social Justice, Peace Education/Non-violence

Office Phone: (414) 288-5895
Home Phone: (414) 774-1052
Mobile Phone: (414) 378-0250
sharon.chubbuck@marquette.edu

 

Heather Hathaway, Associate Dean

Heather  HathawayKlingler College of Arts and Sciences

Expertise: African American Language, Ethnic American Language, Immigration Literature, Multiculturalism

Office Phone: (414) 288-3478
heather.hathaway@marquette.edu

 

Chima Korieh, Associate Professor

Chima KoriehHistory Department

Expertise: Africa, West Africa, Nigeria

Office Phone: (414) 288-3563
Mobile Phone: (856) 520-0101
chima.korieh@marquette.edu

 

Rev. Jeffrey LaBelle, S.J., Assistant Professor

Rev. Jeffrey LaBelle, S.J.Educational Policy and Leadership
Rector of the Jesuit Community

Expertise: Education and Social Issues, English Language Learners, Second Language Acquisitions, Immigrant Learners

Office Phone: (414) 288-7380
Home Phone: (414) 288-5051
Mobile Phone: (414) 208-8480
jeffrey.labelle@marquette.edu

 

Jodi Melamed, Associate Professor

Jodi MelamedEnglish Department

Expertise: Race; Racism and Anti-Racism; Varieties and Histories of Concepts and Institutional Formations; American Literature and Culture after World War I; Culture and Politics; Culture and Globalization; U.S. Social and Civil Rights Movements after WWI

Office Phone: (414) 288-7612
jodi.melamed@marquette.edu

 

Mark George Thiel, Archivist

Mark George ThielLibraries/Special Collections and Archives

Expertise: Catholic Missions to Native Americans in North and Latin America, Catholic Missions to Native Americans in North and Latin America

Office Phone: (414) 288-5904
Home Phone: (262) 521-9270
mark.thiel@marquette.edu