Experts in Social Sciences — History

Alison Efford, Associate Professor

Alison EffordHistory Department

Expertise: Immigration History, U.S. History, 19th Century, Civil War Era, German Americans

Office Phone: (414) 288-7817
alison.efford@marquette.edu

 

Kristen Foster, Associate Professor

Kristen FosterHistory Department

Expertise: U.S. History: Early American (1776-1865), American Cultural History, American Women's History

Office Phone: (414) 288-3562
kristen.foster@marquette.edu

 

Steven Frieder, Senior Advisor to the President and Corporate Secretary

Steven FriederOffice of the President

Expertise: Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis and Children, British Royal Family (House of Windsor) 1936 to Present, Queen Elizabeth II of Great Britain

Office Phone: (414) 288-7752
Home Phone: (414) 225-0404
Mobile Phone: (414) 313-7281
steven.frieder@marquette.edu

 

Carla Hay, Associate Professor

Carla HayHistory Department

Expertise: Women's History, British History

Office Phone: (414) 288-7150
Home Phone: (262) 547-3135
carla.hay@marquette.edu

 

Lezlie Knox, Associate Professor

Lezlie KnoxHistory Department

Expertise: Medieval History, Crusades, Orthodox and Heretical Religious Movements in the Middle Ages, Medieval Gender and Sexuality, Medieval Women

Office Phone: (414) 288-7863
lezlie.knox@marquette.edu

 

Chima Korieh, Associate Professor

Chima KoriehHistory Department

Expertise: Africa, West Africa, Nigeria

Office Phone: (414) 288-3563
Mobile Phone: (856) 520-0101
chima.korieh@marquette.edu

 

James Marten, Chair/Professor

James MartenHistory Department

Expertise: Civil War Era, Children and War, Children's History

Office Phone: (414) 288-7901
Home Phone: (414) 258-8480
james.marten@marquette.edu

 

Timothy McMahon, Associate Professor

Timothy McMahonHistory Department

Expertise: Irish History, Anglo-Irish Relations, Troubles in Northern Ireland, Nationalism and National Identity, British Empire

Office Phone: (414) 288-3559
Home Phone: (414) 443-2733
timothy.g.mcmahon@marquette.edu

 

Daniel Meissner, Associate Professor

Daniel MeissnerHistory Department

Expertise: Chinese Modern History, Modern Chinese Economic Development, Japanese History, Asian Affairs, Sino-American Relations

Office Phone: (414) 288-3552
daniel.meissner@marquette.edu

 

Phillip Naylor, Professor

Phillip NaylorHistory Department

Expertise: Algeria and French Foreign Policy, Middle East, Islam, World Civilizations, North Africa, Rock and Roll, History of Rock and Roll Music

Office Phone: (414) 288-3561
phillip.naylor@marquette.edu

 

Peter Staudenmaier, Associate Professor

Peter StaudenmaierHistory Department

Expertise: Modern German History, Nazi Germany, Environmental History, German Literature and Arts, German Language

Office Phone: (414) 288-3560
peter.staudenmaier@marquette.edu

 

Athan Theoharis, Professor Emeritus

Athan TheoharisHistory Department

Expertise: FBI, Intelligence, Surveillance Policy, U.S. Presidency, U.S. History, 20th Century, History of FBI, Kennedy Assassination, J. Edgar Hoover, Media and Politics

Office Phone: To reach, contact the Office of Marketing and Communication at (414) 288-7448
Home Phone: (414) 352-2015
athan.theoharis@marquette.edu

 

Michael Wert, Associate Professor

Michael WertHistory Department

Expertise: East Asian History, Japanese History

Office Phone: (414) 288-7592
michael.wert@marquette.edu