Experts in Social Sciences — Journalism/Mass Media

Timothy Cigelske, Director of Integrated Content

Tim CigelskeOffice of Marketing and Communication

Expertise: Digital Media, Emerging Media, Social Networks, Twitter, Facebook, Media Writing, Public Relations, The Communications Industry, Social Media Use in Journalism and Reporting

Office Phone: (414) 288-4864
Mobile Phone: (414) 517-2911
timothy.cigelske@marquette.edu

 

Ana Garner, Professor and Chair

Ana GarnerJournalism and Media Studies

Expertise: Women and Popular Culture, Ethnographic Research, Women and the Media, Airplane Disasters and Passenger Safety

Office Phone: (414) 288-7383
Home Phone: (414) 769-6324
ana.garner@marquette.edu

 

Linda Menck, Professional in Residence

Linda MenckStrategic Communication

Expertise: Mobile Marketing and Communication, Social and Emerging Media, Digital Design, Mobile Web Design and Usability

Office Phone: (414) 288-3649
Home Phone: (414) 339 9317
Mobile Phone: (414) 339-9317
linda.menck@marquette.edu

 

James (Jim) Pokrywczynski, Associate Professor

James (Jim) PokrywczynskiStrategic Communication

Expertise: Sports Marketing, Product Placement in Movies, Television Shows, Advertising Effect, Coupon Usage, Radio Advertising, Job Satisfaction in Advertising, Sports Communication, Sports and Entertainment Marketing, Celebrity Endorsements

Office Phone: (414) 288-3451
Home Phone: (414) 462-5369
james.pokro@marquette.edu

 

Karen Slattery, Professor

Karen SlatteryJournalism and Media Studies

Expertise: Broadcast News, Ethics and Values in Communication

Office Phone: (414) 288-3490
Home Phone: (262) 309-9216
Mobile Phone: (262) 309-9216
karen.slattery@marquette.edu

 

William Thorn, Associate Professor

William ThornJournalism and Media Studies

Expertise: Children and the Media, Religious Communication, Media and Religion, Catholic Church and Media, Vatican and Media, Catholic Press, History of American Media

Office Phone: (414) 288-3447
Home Phone: (414) 447-7386
william.thorn@marquette.edu

 

Lynn Turner, Professor

Lynn TurnerCommunication Studies
Director, Interdisciplinary Family Studies Minor

Expertise: Family Communication, Gender and Communication, Television and the Family, Talking to Your Parents, Gender in the Media

Office Phone: (414) 288-6351
Home Phone: (414) 962-8456
lynn.turner@marquette.edu

 

Erik Ugland, Associate Professor

Erik UglandDigital Media and Performing Arts

Expertise: Media Ethics, Media Law, First Amendment Law, Journalism Ethics, Media and Public Policy, Broadcasting and Cable TV, Federal Communications Commission (FCC)

Office Phone: (414) 288-3494
erik.ugland@marquette.edu