Convention Steering Committee

A Convention Steering Committee has been created to lead the multi-faceted planning and execution of the university’s preparations for the City of Milwaukee hosting the convention. Any and all events, requests for renting university space and programming, or other activities related to the convention must go through the Convention Steering Committee to ensure a centralized process. 

The following individuals are part of the Convention Steering Committee: 

  • Mary Czech-Mrochinski, senior director for public affairs – Co-chair
  • Jean Dole, chief of staff in the Office of the Senior Vice President/Chief Operating Officer – Co-chair
  • Lynn Griffith, assistant vice president of university communication – Co-chair
  • Rana Altenburg, associate vice president of public affairs 
  • Rick Arcuri, acting vice president of student affairs
  • Kate Braasch, chief of presidential affairs and VISIT Milwaukee board member 
  • Dr. Sarah Feldner, dean of the Diederich College of Communication 
  • Steve Frieder, senior advisor to the president and corporate secretary
  • Edith Hudson, chief of the Marquette University Police Department 
  • Paul Jones, vice president, University Relations and general counsel
  • Dr. Stephanie Quade, dean of students 
  • Lora Strigens, vice president for planning and facilities management

The steering committee has developed five subcommittees, which will consider impacts on students, faculty, staff, alumni and visitors:

  • Academic Sub-committee (faculty and student opportunities) – chaired by Dr. Sarah Feldner
  • External Engagement Sub-committee – chaired by Paul Jones
  • Operational Impact Sub-committee – chaired by Jean Dole
  • Security Sub-committee – chaired by Chief Edith Hudson
  • Facility Rentals and Services Sub-committee – chaired by Rick Arcuri
    • Site Visit Team to coordinate walk-throughs for interested organizations – led by Mary Czech-Mrochinski and Ann Taghikhani

To submit questions or ideas related to the convention, please fill out this contact form or contact one of the Convention Steering Committee co-chairs.