Alumni National Awards 2019: Marquette University alumni, friends to be honored for excellence

April, 24, 2019

 MILWAUKEE — Marquette University will recognize a collection of its most distinguished alumni and friends later this month during its annual Alumni National Awards Weekend.

Alumni National Awards, which will take place April 25-27, will honor Marquette alumni, as well as friends of the university, for their personal and professional accomplishments, as well as their continued support for Marquette.

Award recipients include individuals from each of the university’s colleges and professional schools. Winners embody Marquette’s spirit and mission in searching for truth, discovering and sharing knowledge, fostering excellence, promoting faith, and developing leadership through serving others.

Short profiles of the honorees, including Alumnus of the Year James C. Sartori, are available on Marquette’s Alumni National Awards webpage.

All-University Award Recipients

Alumnus of the Year Award: James C. Sartori, Bus Ad ’77

Jim Sartori was just 30 when took the reins of his family’s Wisconsin-based cheese business in 1986. Under his savvy leadership, Satori Company’s products have become premium international retail brands that regularly win awards, while the company itself has remained true to its family and artisan values. Read the full bio here.

Professional Achievement Award: Barry C. Cosgrove, Jour ’79

“The guts to try, the heart to care and the resolve to Be The Difference.” It’s a message of inspiration in the Marquette community, a statement to essentially define the Marquette student. And it captures, perfectly, Barry Cosgrove’s approach to a life and career defined by self-made success. Read the full bio here.

Service to the Community Award: The Ignace Family – Dr. Gerald L. Ignace, Med ’65; Georgianna Webster Ignace, Sp ’88; Dr. Lyle A. Ignace, Arts ’92; and Thekla Ignace Wald, Arts ’97

As Native Americans descended from the Coeur D’Alene and Menominee tribes, Gerald and Georgianna Ignace have long been involved in efforts to improve Native healthcare. Along the way, they instilled in their children, including Lyle and Thekla, the importance of service to the Native community. Read their full bios here.

Service to Marquette Award: Joel J. Andryc, Sp ’79, and Nancy Schmid Andryc, Bus Ad ’79

Breaking into the entertainment industry is notoriously tough, but showbiz-bound Marquette students and alumni can count on two valuable connections in Hollywood: Nancy and Joel Andryc. Their passion for helping the Marquette community has inspired an influential network of engaged West Coast alumni. Read their full bios here.

Spirit of Marquette Award: Dr. Yi Sherry Zhang, Grad ’07

A molecular biologist by training, Dr. Sherry Zhang also has entrepreneurship in her DNA. Her latest startup company, GenoPalate, combined genetic and nutrition analysis to offer insights for eating smart and healthy. It also combined Zhang’s expertise in human population genomics with her strong desire to help others. Read the full bio here.

Friend of the University Award: American Orthodontics Corporation

Through innovative product development and a strong culture of serving others, American Orthodontics is dedicated to creating beautiful smiles. Its generous support Marquette initiatives, President Michael R. Lovell said, is, “creating a legacy of caring and kindness that goes far beyond our university and students.” Read the full bio here.

College and Group Award Recipients

Each college and other university groups will honor outstanding alumni at events throughout the weekend. The names of the alumni who will be honored are below. Visit the Marquette University Alumni National Awards webpage for additional informational on each award winner.

Helen Way Klingler College of Arts and Sciences

Distinguished Alumna of the Year Award - Maureen H. Hoyler, Arts ’70, Law ’79

Professional Achievement Award – Richard V. Poirier, Arts ’83, Law ’86

A Person for Others Award – Maria E. Flores, Arts ’84

Young Alumnus of the Year Award – John W. Meuler, Arts ’04

Association of Marquette University of Women

Mary Neville Bielefeld Award – Mary Ellen King Muth, Arts ’61

College of Business Administration

Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Award – Richard J. Leinenkugel, Bus Ad ’80

Professional Achievement Award – Phillip M. Spencer, Bus Ad ’84

Service Award – Pamela Moehring Peters, Bus Ad ’70, and John E. Peters, Bus Ad ’69

Young Alumna of the Year Award – Lisa Hensch Maier, Bus Ad ’06

William and Mary Diederich College of Communication

Communicator of the Year Award – Nancy R. Armour, Comm ’91

Byline Award – Patrick M. Olsen, Jour ’87

Professional Achievement Award – Mary-Ann Bendel, Sp ’57

Young Alumna of the Year Award – Sheena G. Quinn, Comm ’04

James T. Tiedge Memorial Award – Sandra M. Patyk, Comm ’91

School of Dentistry

Distinguished Alumnus in Dentistry Award – Dean J. Coppoloa, D.D.S., Dent ’87

Outstanding Dental Service Award – Thomas E. Gelhaus, D.D.S., Dent ’84

Young Alumna of the Year Award – Laura J. Rammer, D.D.S., Dent ’07

College of Education

Distinguished Alumna of the Year Award – Susan M. Korek, Arts ’80

Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology Achievement Award – Courtney Wesnoske Courtney, Grad ’13

Educational Policy and Leadership Achievement Award – Hosanna Farr Mahaley, Arts ’91

Young Alumna of the Year Award – Colleen K. Ryan, Ed ’10

Opus College of Engineering

Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Award - Ramzi Y. Hermiz, Eng ’87

Professional Achievement Award - John R. Hartnett, Eng ’82

Entrepreneurial Award - Craig A. Zoberis, Eng ’90

Service Award - Robert F. Sobczak, Eng ’71, Grad ’74

Young Alumna of the Year Award - Jennifer Moen Schneider, Eng ’03, Grad ’06

College of Health Sciences

Distinguished Alumna of the Year Award - Dr. Theresa Monaco Spitznagle, PT ’86

Professional Achievement Award - Carleen Stransky Freesmeier, H Sci ’03, PA ’05

Service Award - Kristin Keglovitz Baker, H Sci ’02, PA ’03

Young Alumnus of the Year Award - Dr. William M. Beer, H Sci ’03

Department of Intercollegiate Athletics

Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Award - Dwyane T. Wade, Jr.

Lifetime Achievement Award - Charles N. Besser, Arts ’72, Law ’75

M Club Hy Popuch Memorial Service Award - William L. Cords

Young Alumna of the Year Award - Jasmine McCullough Robinson, Eng ’07

Robert L. and William P. McCahill Award - Jessica L. Parker, H Sci ’18

Law School

Alumna of the Year Award - Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler, Law ’89

Lifetime Achievement Award - Aaron D. Twerski, Law ’65

Howard B. Eisenberg Service Award - Lisette R. Khalil, Law ’07

Charles W. Mentkowski Sports Law Alumnus of the Year Award - Aaron Hernandez, Law ’13

College of Nursing

Distinguished Alumna of the Year Award - Nancy Lien Korom, Grad ’93

Professional Achievement Award - Susan Eshelman Ela, Nurs ’77, Grad ’88

Service Award - Katherine A. Brown-Saltzman, Nurs ’75

Young Alumna of the Year Award - Kristin P. Stoniecki, Nurs ’07

Alumni Association Board of Directors

Pedro Arrupe Award - Chiana A. Román, Nursing student

About Shelby Williamson

Shelby Williamson

Shelby is a senior communication specialist in the Office of Marketing and Communication. Contact Shelby at (414) 288-6712 or