AMUW Chair in Humanistic Studies

The Center for the Advancement of the Humanities is home to the Association of Marquette University Women in Humanistic Studies. Established in 1963, the AMUW Chair in Humanistic Studies brings distinguished scholars to Marquette to teach, lecture and interact with students.

2020 Chair - Dr. Mariana Ortega was not able to be with us due to COVID-19. 


Previous AMUW Chairs

2019 Chair

Professor Frances R. Aparicio is Professor Emerita at Northwestern University, where she taught in the Department of Spanish and Portuguese and directed the Latina and Latino Studies Program. Her scholarship has examined popular music and gender, transnational musics, the cultural politics of language among U.S. Latinx communities, and more recently, the multiple nationalities of Intralatinx in Chicago.

2018 Chair

Dr. N. Katherine Hayles is a professor Emerita at duke University where she served as Director of Graduate Studies in the Program in LIterature. She teaches and writes on the relations of literature, science and technology in the 20th and 21st centuries.