Alumni and Friends

As alumni and friends of the Les Aspin Center for Government, you understand the uniqueness of our programs and the impact they have on our students.

During the past 35 years, the Les Aspin Center has transformed more than 2,500 students into women and men dedicated to our political process and affecting change in our nation’s capital, in their communities, and around the world. The Les Aspin Center would not be what it is today without your help.

  • Upcoming Events
  • Board of Visitors
  • 35th Anniversary Alumni Survey

Marquette Men's Basketball Watch Parties

Join the Alumni Club of DC at The Admiral in Dupont for all games of the season, Big East Tournament and NCAA tournament.

Find more information about upcoming games here.


Aspin Center for Government Information Session

MONDAY, MARCH 25 | 6 pm - 7:30 pm
Union Sports Annex
804 N. 16th St., Milwaukee, WI

Interested in an internship in Milwaukee or Washington D.C.? Marquette's Les Aspin Center for Government is holding an informational session to learn more about the Aspin Washington Internship Program and Kleczka Milwaukee Internship Program! No advanced registration required.


Advancing Equity in Healthcare Panel

K & L Gates
1601 K St NW, 1st floor, Washington, DC

Join us for a panel discussion focusing on whether various populations have equitable access to healthcare and the challenges of ensuring that they receive such care. The panel will be co-hosted by Marquette University's Les Aspin Center for Government and Claremont McKenna College and will feature expert alumni from both schools. 

Learn more and register here.


Kleczka Milwaukee Internship Program Celebration

WEDNESDAY, APRIL 10, 2024 | 6 pm – 8 pm   

Alumni Memorial Union, Room 227, Second Floor 
1442 W. Wisconsin Ave., Milwaukee, WI

For over 20 years, the Kleczka Milwaukee Internship has placed students in local legislative offices and public affairs organizations coupled with classroom instruction and financial assistance. We are honored to hear from Bonnie Kleczka about her late husband’s generoisty and legacy. Current and past Kleczka interns will have the opportunity to network with local offices and each other to enrichen the Kleczka Internship experience for both alumni and future students.

Learn more and register here.


Honoring Diane Foley, author of American Mother

TUESDAY, APRIL 30, 2024 | 7 pm   

Les Aspin Center for Government 
502 East Capitol St. NE, Washington, DC

Diane's new book about her son, Jim Foley, a 1996 graduate of Marquette who was murdered in Syria while working as a freelance journalist 10 years ago. Dr. Sarah Feldner, dean of Marquette’s Diedrich College of Communications will moderate a brief discussion with Diane Foley about her book, the work of the Foley Foundation, and its relationship to Marquette’s initiatives. 

Advance signed copies of the book may be purchased using this link to the Foley Foundation’s website.

More information regarding registration to come.

We especially want to thank the Les Aspin Center Board of Visitors for their support, generosity, and guidance. 


James Aspin
Management Vectors

Michael Bartley

William Broydrick
Broydrick & Associates

Todd Ciresi

Timothy F. Cullen

Rudy de Leon
Center for American Progress

Andrew Foster
Aemetis Advanced Fuels

Sharon Haverstock
Haverstock & Associates, LLC.

Kathryn Hein

Mary E. Henke
Gordon Henke Family Foundation

Robert Henzl
Hostak, Henzl & Bichler

Hon. Herb Kohl
U.S. Senate (retired)

Jacqueline Lewis

Hon. David Obey
U.S. House of Representatives (retired)

Steven M. Radke
Northwestern Mutual

Bruce Renquist

Hon. Paul Ryan
Former Speaker of U.S. House of Representatives 

John Seder
Milwaukee Valve

Mary Beth Stanton

Amy Ford Souders
Cornerstone Government Affairs Group

Hon. Tommy Thompson
Former Secretary of U.S. Department
of Health and Human Services; Former Wisconsin Governor

Mark Wagner
Johnson Controls, Inc. 

John K. Wilson
Foley & Lardner LLP

Tim Yehl
Tim Yehl Consulting

In celebration of 35 successful years of Marquette in DC, we want to highligh 35 of our amazing alumni. We’d appreciate you taking the 5-10 minutes to share about how your time at the Aspin Center has impacted your life—whether you participated 2, 5, 10 or 25+ years ago!

Take the survey here

Stay Connected

Looking for an easy way to support us? Give us a follow on any of our social media platforms. We love to show off our amazing alumni, so be sure to email us with any life or career updates. Still friends with or even married to an Aspinite peer? Send pictures our way and don't forget to tage us in your posts! We appreciate your continued support of the Les Aspin Center for Government.


Instagram  Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn