Traveling Seminars

In order to acquaint students and faculty members in the Great Lakes region with our programs, we are offering to provide seminar speakers, at our expense, as part of our graduate recruitment efforts. Members of our faculty are willing to give a departmental seminar, speak to specific classes, or simply schedule an informal visit with faculty and students.

Below is a list of faculty and potential topics that are available this academic year. If you would like to schedule a visit, please contact the person whom you are interested in directly.

Dmitri Babikov (dmitri.babikov@marquette.edu; (414) 288-3538)
• Quantum Origin of Anomalous Isotope Effect in Ozone Formation
• Mixed Quantum/Classical Theory for Collisional Energy Transfer
• Computational Study of Vibrational Qubits in Ion Traps

Joe Clark (joseph.r.clark@marquette.edu; (414) 288-7859)
• Precision Deuteration in Small Organic Molecules
• Cu-Catalyzed Alkene and Alkyne Hydrofunctionalization Reactions

Adam Fiedler (adam.fiedler@marquette.edu; (414) 288-7191)
• Synthetic Chemistry Relevant to Nonheme Iron Dioxygenases Involved in Bioremediation

James Gardinier (james.gardinier@marquette.edu; (414) 288-3533)
• Electronic Communication in Mono and Bimetallic Pincer Complexes and Their Assemblies

Jier Huang (jier.huang@marquette.edu; (414) 288-3537)
• Structure-Function Analyses of photocatalytic hybrid materials for solar energy conversion

Ofer Kedem (ofer.kedem@marquette.edu; (414) 288-0701)
• The Role of Stabilizing Ligands and Supports in Nanoparticle Catalysts
• Photopatterning of Complex Monolayers and Photofabrication of Nanomaterials

James Kincaid (james.kincaid@marquette.edu; (414) 288-3539)
• Looking at Fleeting Intermediates in the Reaction Cycles of Heme Proteins

Scott Reid (scott.reid@marquette.edu; (414) 288-7565)
• Hole and Exciton Delocalization in Model π-stacked Assemblies
• Roaming Halogen Radicals
• Flipping the General Chemistry Classroom

Nick Reiter (nicholas.reiter@marquette.edu; (414) 288-5701)
• Structure and Conformational Dynamics of a Catalytic RNA and its RNA-protein Interface
• Molecular Recognition of RNA by Chromatin-Associated Protein Enzymes

Qadir Timerghazin (qadir.timerghazin@marquette.edu; (414) 288-5779)
• S-Nitrosothiols: From Electronic Structure to Biological Function

Dian Wang (dian.wang@marquette.edu; (414) 288-2076)
• New Modes of Bond Activation in Homogeneous Catalysis

Chae Yi (chae.yi@marquette.edu; (414) 288-3536)
• Synthetic and Mechanistic Study of the Ruthenium-Catalyzed Dehydrative C-H Coupling Reactions