The Marquette University Symphony Orchestra provides members with an opportunity to develop and share musical talents through participation in a large-group setting.


Membership is open to any full-time undergraduate student who plays violin, viola, cello, or string bass. Symphony Orchestra is registered as MUSIC 1300 in the university’s undergraduate course bulletin.


Students may choose to enroll in Symphony Orchestra for credit, and in this case, credit earned in Symphony Orchestra (MUSIC 1300) counts towards the music minor offered through the Diederich College of Communication. Associate membership is available to any part-time undergraduate student, graduate/professional student, faculty member at Marquette University or Marquette alumni at the discretion of the director, Dr. Erik Janners.


Auditions are conducted for seating purposes only. All levels of musical ability are welcomed and encouraged. Literature is selected from all periods of music history. If you have any questions about orchestra, please e-mail erik.janners@marquette.edu.

Rehearsals and Performances

Rehearsals are held on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 3:30 – 4:50 p.m. Orchestra is a performance-based course and grading is based upon participation in rehearsals. Dress rehearsals and performances are mandatory. Some university-owned orchestral instruments are available for member use.

The Marquette University Symphony Orchestra performs concerts in October, February and April, and participates in other events throughout the year.


Dr. Erik Janners is the conductor for the Marquette University Symphony Orchestra. For more information about Dr. Janners, please see his faculty biography.


Marquette Orchestra Fall 2022

Violin I

Eliza Borysenko          

Matt Waters                 

Sophie Panahon           

Catherine Lehmkuhl

Veronica Lasak           

Rev. Michael Zeps, S.J.         

Ciara Hudson              



Violin II

Valerie Tuzhilkov        

Dora Mercado 

Claire Stroger  

Christian Balanon

Liz Otten

Nicole Schilder



Gabe Smith                 

Emily Jubran               

Hannah Donati            

Grace Dykstra             

Ryan Kenny                

Ajay Katwala              

Ryghtious Frazier        

Maureen Dudley          



Hope Johnson             

Paige Baffes                

Katrina La Madrid       

John Riordan               

Hollin Sias                  

Trinity Burgess            


String Bass

Zitong Zheng



Taylor Headley