College of Education Celebrates Students, Faculty and Friends at 2019 Mission Recognition Awards

Students, Alumni and Friends Recognition at Mission Award Event

Released: April 16, 2019
Congratulations to the following individuals who were honored at the annual College
of Education Mission Recognition Event on Tuesday, April 16, 2019.

Student Awards

Student Awards recognize pre-service teachers and graduate students who demonstrate not only academic excellence, but also a commitment to social justice and leadership expressed in service to others.

  • Outstanding Elementary Pre-Service Teacher
    Kelsie Lamb
  • Outstanding Secondary Pre-Service Teacher
    Alexis Ixchel Garcia
  • Outstanding Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology Masters Student
    Caroline Elizabeth Trustey
  • Outstanding Educational Policy & Leadership Graduate Student
    Noreen Siddiqui
  • Outstanding Counselor Educati0n and Counseling Psychology Doctoral Student
    Mackenzie T. Goertz

Community Partners

CECP Human Service Partner
Children's Hospital of Wisconsin

EDPL Partner Award
Wauwatosa School District

EDPL Outstanding Lecturer Award

Dr. Terry Brecklin

Outstanding Cooperating Teacher

The Outstanding Cooperating Teacher Award recognizes a teacher in the
community who has worked with College of Education students as a mentor and role

  • Mr. Kevin Kane

Recent Graduates—Living the Mission

Living the Mission Awards recognize recent graduates who reflect the mission of
the College of Education by acting as change agents in their community.

  • CECP Living the Mission
    Jessica A. Brudage, Ph.D.
  • EDPL Living the Mission
    Theresa Morateck

WACTE Early Career Educator

Eileen Mallof

WACTE Pre-Service Mentor Educator

Carrie Zuithoff

Dr. Joan Whipp Outstanding Service Award

Named in honor of Dr. Joan Whipp, this award is presented to a member of the
faculty or staff who exemplifies the meaning of service to the College of Education.

  • Calley Hostad

Marquette University Partner Award

The Marquette University Partner Award recognizes an individual or department for
exemplary efforts in support of the College of Education and its social justice mission.

  • Marquette University Special Events

Education Advocacy Award

  • Paul and Paula Eberle

Dean's Faculty Excellence Award

The Dean's Faculty Excellence Award recognizes faculty members who excel at
teaching, research, and service or whose performance in any of these areas is
especially significant.

  • Dr. Leigh van den Kieboom