Association of Marquette University Women

Faculty Achievement Award


Name:  Nora Finnigan Werra Faculty Achievement Award

Purpose of the Award: To honor and recognize a woman faculty member who has excelled in her research, teaching and service to Marquette and to the community, and has mentored students and other faculty.

The AMUW Board of Directors will handle management of this award, in partnership with the Office of the Provost.

Eligibility:  A woman Associate Professor or Professor will be eligible for this award. Nominees need to be employed full-time, and have given at least 7 years of service to Marquette.

Nomination Process: Solicitations for this award will normally be sent out in the fall of each year. Nominations will be solicited from full-time faculty.  Only one ballot is required to start the nomination process.  Self-nominations will not be accepted.  The Office of the Provost will request a letter of support from the top 5-10 candidate’s deans/chairs and the candidate’s curriculum vitae.  This letter should support the candidate’s level of excellence achieved in her research, teaching, service to Marquette and to the community, and her mentoring of students and other faculty.  No one serving on the Selection Committee may be nominated for this award.  A Professor/Associate Professor is eligible to win this award once in a lifetime.  The recipient will receive the award in late April at the AMUW Mary Neville Bielfeld Award Mass & Brunch.

Selection Committee:  The chair of the Selection Committee will be the non-voting, AMUW liaison.  The Selection Committee (not including the chair) will be comprised of 5 voting members, men and women, who will follow the guidelines established for this award.  Membership for the Selection Committee, including the chair, will be as follows: three senior Marquette faculty from different colleges (serving one 1-year term) and two representatives from AMUW (serving one 2-year term).  Terms shall be staggered. The past award recipient will serve a term on the Selection Committee. The Selection Committee faculty members will be chosen by the Office of the Provost, and the AMUW members will be selected by the AMUW Board of Directors.

Past Winners: See list of past recipientsof the Nora Finnigan Werra Faculty Achievement Award.