Student Organization Awards Past Recipients

Outstanding Student Organization Advisor of the Year Award

2017 Eva Martinez Powless (Hispanic Professionals of Greater Milwaukee)
2015 Hannah Barr (Women & Youth Supporting Each Other)
2012 Mark Federle (Engineers Without Borders)
2011 Michelle Schuh (Global Medical Brigades)
2010 Monica Passage (Active Minds)
2009 Dr. Terence Ow (IT Student Organization)
2008 Ms. Kelly Neumann (Residence Hall Association)
2007 Rev. John Naus, S.J. (Evans Scholars)
2006 Jocelyn Sideco (Bayanihan Student Organization)
2005 Angelique West (Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc)
2004 Mr. Tom Noonan (Debate Team)
2004 Dr. James Crovetti (American Society of Civil Engineers)
2003 Dr. Eileen McDonald (Pi Delta Phi)
2002 Col. Gary Kopsey (Arnold Air Society)
2000 Ms. Anne Pufahl (Women's Volleyball)
1999 Mr. Keven Riggle (College Bowl)
1998 Dr. David Mielke (AIESEC)
1998 Dr. Jennifer Mendez (Winter Flurry)
1997 Dr. David Mielke (AIESEC)
1997 Dr. Mary Ann Farkas (Criminology Club)
1996 Mr. CJ Hribal (Writers Ink)
1995 Mr. Richard Leonard (Society of Professional Journalists)
1995 Mr. David Kuemmel (Institute of Transportation Engineers)
1994 Ms. Alice Semrad (Medical Laboratory Technology Student Council)
1994 Mr. Michael Price (CJPA Student Council)
1993 Mr. Nick Schroder (Rowing Club)
1993 Dr. Michael Akers (Beta Alpha Psi)


Educational Program of the Year Award

2017 BizNet and Java & Jobs (IT Student Organization)
2016 Human Powered Nebulizer Day (Biomedical Engineering Society)
2015 A Real Look at Politics (Delta Sigma Theta)
2014 Michelle Bersell Speaker (Phi Beta Phi & Active Minds)
2013 VSA Leadership Summit (Vietnamese Student Organization)
2012 Marquette-ing & Networking Event (Marquette-ing Club)
2011 Navy Nurse Corps Symposium (Navy Nurse Corps)
2010 Ban the "R" Word (Best Buddies)
2009 Think Laugh Live (Alpha Chi Omega)
2008 Rape Culture and the University Setting (Empowerment)
2008 Focus the Nation (Students for an Envir. Active Campus)
2007 Blood Diamond Action and Speaker (Amnesty International)
2006 Social Justice Teach In (Justice)
2005 Step Out the Vote Step Show (Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc)
2004 Shower of Stoles (Gay Straight Alliance)
2002 Chronicles From The Closet (Gay Straight Alliance)
2001 Women's Week (National Panhellenic Council)


Community Service Program of the Year Award

2016 Engineers Without Borders
2015 Champions Are Readers (Pi Beta Phi)
2014 St. Baldrick's Day (Evans Scholars)
2013 St. Baldrick's Day (Evans Scholars)
2012 Rising Stars Volunteer (Tutoring Program - National Society of Black Engineers
2011 New Beginnings Are Possible (Black Student Council)
2010 ESL Lessons at St. Adalberts (Sigma Delta Phi)
2009 Respite Day (Autism Awareness Society)
2008 Mision San Adalberto (Sigma Delta Phi)
2007 Honduras Service Trips (Global Medical Relief)


New Student Organization of the Year Award

2016 American Society for Quality
2015 Live Poets Society
2013 Allies of the Club
2012 Vietnamese Student Association
2011 Builders Coalition of Marquette University
2010 Club Triathlon
2009 Linguistics Club
2008 Student Advocates for Health and Human Dignity
2006 The School of Education Student Council


Social Program of the Year Award

2017 Hanukkah Party (Jewish Student Union)
2015 Ebony Ball (Black Student Council)
2014 Brew City Stompdown Step Show (NPHC)
2013 The Show Must Go On (Gold'n Blues)
2012 Brew City Stompdown (Sigma Gamma Rho)
2011 Relay for Life (Colleges Against Cancer)
2010 Brew City Stompdown (NPHC)
2009 Fall Fashion Show "Legacy" (Bayanihan Student Organization)
2008 Foreign Film Festival (Foreign Language Student Organization)
2007 Vintage Annual Fall Fashion Show (Bayanihan Student Organization)
2006 Bradley Center Tailgates (O'Donnell Hall Council)
2005 Tonight Show (Student Alumni Network)
2004 Texas Hold'em (Interfraternity Council)
2002 Marquette Soccer Classic (Students Supporting Special Olympics)
2001 Brew City Stomp Down (NPHC)


Diversity Program of the Year Award

2017 COLORES Cultural Show (Latin American Student Organization)
2015 Taste of MU (Marquette University Student Government)
2014 Islam Awareness Week (Muslim Student Organization)
2013 Pan African Heritage Month (African Students Association and Black Student Council)
2012 Midwest Association of Filipino Americans Conference (Bayanihan Student Organization)
2011 Remove the Blindfold (Residence Hall Association)
2010 Fast-a-Thon (Muslim Student Organization)
2009 Islam Awareness Celebration (Muslim Student Organization)
2008 AFAYHE (African Student Organization)
2007 The N Word (Delta Sigma Theta Sorority)
2006 Mexican Independence Day Cookout Celebration (Sigma Lambda Beta)
2005 Ramadan Dinners (Arab Student Association)
2004 Revolutions Fashion Show (Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.)
2004 Fall Fashion Show (Bayanihan Student Organization)
2003 Foreign Language Luncheon (International Business Student Association)
2003 Fall Fashion Show (Bayanihan Student Organization)
2002 Taste of Latin America (Delta Xi Phi)
2001 Fall Fashion Show (Bayanihan Student Organization)


Program of the Year Award

2017 20th Annual BSO Fashion Show: The Great Bayanihan (Bayanihan Student Organization)
2015 MarquetteX (ChangeMakers)


Student Organization Officer of the Year Award

2017 Victoria Gokee-Rindal (Native American Student Association)
2016 Makie Pasternak (Active Minds)
2015 Aatif Nowman (Muslim Student Organization)
2015 Molly Eddingfield (Student Nursing Association)
2013 Matthew McGonegle (MUSG)
2012 Richard Bennett (Club Hockey)
2012 Alexander Johnson (Hype Dance)
2011 Isioma Nwabuzor (Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority)
2010 Joseph Woelfel (Kappa Sigma Fraternity)
2010 Andrea Carrillo (Sigma Delta Pi)
2009 Catie Uggeri (Club Bowling)
2009 Jessica Beauchamp (Residence Hall Association)
2008 Stephanie Storck (IT Student Organization)
2007 Greg Jackson (Amnesty International)
2006 Wes Pendersen (Bowling Club)
2005 Lindsey McKee (Multicultural Association of Communication Students)
2004 Ryan Bigney (MU TV)
2004 Michael Maloney (Gay Straight Alliance)
2003 Stephanie Halaska (NRHH)
2002 Dan Bailey (Club Football)
2001 Aaron Bader (MU-Band)


Member of the Year Award

2017 T'Yanna White (Alpha Kappa Alpha)
2015 Nichole Fernandez-Jurado (Alpha Xi Delta)


Rev. Robert A. Wild. S.J. Spirit of Marquette Award

2017    Biomedical Engineering Society
 Black Student Council
 Marquette Dance Marathon
 Delta Xi Phi
 Sigma Lambda Beta
 American Medical Association
2015 Adaptive Abilities
Sigma Delta Pi
Women & Youth Supporting Each Other (WYSE)
2013 Delta Xi Phi Multicultural Sorority, Inc.
2011 Active Minds
Bayanihan Student Organization
Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology Graduate Student Organization
2010 Kappa Sigma Fraternity
Women & Youth Supporting Each Other (WYSE)
2009 Les Aspin Center Alumni Council
Muslim Student Association
2008 Colleges Against Cancer
National Society of Black Engineers
Watumishi People of Service
2007 Arab Student Association
Mardi Gras
2006 Alpha Phi
Circle K International
Engineers Without Borders
2005 Muslim Student Organization
2004 College of Health Sciences Student Council
Residence Hall Association
2003 Arnold Air Society
Students for an Environmentally Active Campus
2002 Bayanihan Student Organization
Circle K International
National Residence Hall Honorary
2001 Delta Xi Phi
Students for Life
2000 Justice
1999 Delta Sigma Theta
Marquette University Band
Marquette University Student Government
1998 Bayanihan Student Organization
Students Enhancing Education
1997 Big Brothers/Big Sisters
Physical Therapy Student Council
Residence Hall Association
1996 Best Buddies
Writers Ink
Delta Sigma Pi
Sigma Delta Pi
1994 Business Administration Student Council
Major Speakers Commission - ASMU
Social Justice Network
1993 Beta Alpha Psi
Cross Cultures Commission - ASMU
Students Enhancing Education